Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
An excellent recipe!...just like one I had a few years back (but had lost) - so thank you to the chef who posted this! If considering subsitutions...I used a can of mixed beans and a can of chickpeas...left out the onions and used celery salt instead of the seed. Very minor adjustments as I didn't have the exact ingredients and not alot of time to throw it together. I've already sneaked a few mouthfuls in and it was only made in the past hour! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was looking for a recipe like this one because I had this type of salad at a friend"s and wanted to make my own. This tasted almost the same but I would have to admit mine was better. Lol!Thanks for sharing. I have continued to make it and I really love it in the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria E Salcedo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yum! This was GREAT! I've always been a fan of three-bean salad and am thrilled to have FINALLY found a recipe that I can add to my permanent file. :) Sure, the canned stuff is good (yes, I like canned bean salad...), but this is SOOO much better! Because I knew I'd be the only person in my household eating this, I halved everything. My grocer sells 8 oz. cans of green and wax beans, so I only ended up with half a can of wasted kidney beans (I'll add those to soup or chili next week). Simply superb! Thanks for sharing your secret recipe, Eleanor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Great recipe; cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and double the canned vegetables. Let sit over night and stir well before serving. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious and perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
We love this recipe and is a staple at all of our cookouts. A very flexible recipe. I use green, kidney, and black beans. I do cut down on the sugar a bit but this is only because I like it with apple cider vinegar. White vinegar needs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
The recipe's dressing proportions are way off, hence the 3-star rating. Taking down the sugar/oil level to make it healthier, I loved this salad. Will definitely make it again! Subbed a shallot for the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I wasn't fond of this salad. Took it to a Christmas potluck. Maybe just too many other wonderful food items but this one wasn't a hit and I'll never make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed a lot of the suggestions, cutting down on the sugar and using red wine vinegar.. also added peas as well. This really was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Quite oily, sour, and overpoweringly celery-tasting. I used dried beans instead of canned, so maybe the extra salt of canned beans would change the flavor... but I would not count on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States