Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
The taste was good, but I thought it was too oily. Could do without the celery seed, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Very tasty, I used splenda instead of sugar, making it diabetic friendly. I also added 1 can whole kernal corn (drained) 1 can peas, (drained). I choped my onion instead of in rings. I increased the amounts of oil, splenda and vinegar because of adding the extra canned vegetables. We love this salad, goes great with the slow cooker roast beef recipe I have posted here on allrecipes.com. Thanks for the great recipe. One other time I made it, I added chopped celery AND a small jar of pimento's. Really colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
I replaced the kidney beans with chick peas, reduced the vinegar to 1/2 cup and the oil to 1/4 cup, eliminated the sugar altogether, and increased the celery seed. Delicious! Thanks for providing the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This was too juicy and too sweet. Cut the sugar... a lot. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was ok. I was expecting more, based on the reviews, but I'm not sure why since the ingredients all come from cans. I didn't have a lot leftover from the potluck I made it for, so it's worth trying if you like beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I love this recipe! I did use garbanzo beans in place of the wax beans. It's very easy to make and I find the tastes really meld together best by the 3rd or 4th day. This recipe is going to be my "holy grail recipe" for bean salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This recipe is good if you are looking for a sweet bean salad. I would cut the sugar in this recipe to 1/2 cup, or a very scant 3/4 cup. I did not add the celery seed, and it tasted fine without it. Many people asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Fast, easy and great for the diet. Very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
The amount of salt is always a problem.... Beans need a lot of salt. You can also use any other beans. It works great with all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNASCHUBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyds, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Wonderful. I made this for the bridge club and they loved it. Best if made the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States