Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I used equal part vinegar, sugar and oil (2/3 cup) and, I used red wine vinegar instead of distilled. I added one more can of 7 bean blend (540 ml) and chopped a red onion finely. Didn't have the celery seed, so I added 2 tsp of dried parsley. It was prefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
The dressing for this bean salad is perfect. I wouldn't change anything. This is a truly great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We didn't care for the "less sugar" version suggested, that is the only thing I did different except adding a stalk of chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Wonderful! My mom makes this all the time, and I didn't want to bother her for the recipe (yet again!). So I used this recipe, and this is the stuff! We all loved it! Just one caution, don't make a double batch unless you have a football team to feed!! I have no idea what I'm going to do with all this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I am updating this to five stars. This is SO good! This is a great salad to take to a picnic or buffet in summer since it has no mayo in it. I think the amount of sugar is just fine (I use Splenda). I sometimes add a can of wax beans also. And I use celery salt instead of seed and omit the regular salt. Very good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Great recipe! My husbands grandma makes this and I wrote it down but couldn't find it. So I tried this one and it is exactly the same. I used white kidney beans, chick peas and green beans. I also didn't have any celery seed so I used celery instead. I also added green pepper. Delish! Will make this all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEORGESGIRL99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I used this recipe because it was the first on the list. I won't even try another. This recipe is so perfect. I make it once a week to have as snacks or to make to take to work. I find it better the longer you let i sit. Over one day is best. You could always substitute the sugar for splenda for healthier version. Lots of fiber in this!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I think this is spectacular! I really like the extra sweetness, you're eating pretty much healthy. I used light red and red kidney's and chick peas.. Also used red onion and chopped celery in place of celery seed... good. Basically we are rating the dressing, and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe for 3 bean salad. I did use fresh green and wax beans, since I am not fond of canned vegetables. I substituted 2 cups of each kind of bean for the 15 oz cans. I needed about 3/4 lb. of green and 3/4 lb. of waxed beans to get the two cups for each type of bean. I steamed the beans until they were crisp tender. Although I initially made half of the dressing like so many recommended, I ended up making another half recipe. I felt it was better for marinating if the beans were soaking in more liquid. When it was time to serve, I did drain out a fair amount of the liquid. I didn't have celery seed, so I skipped that. I added a little chopped celery and green pepper. I did not find the dressing too sweet for my tastes. I did double the salt since I was using fresh beans and low sodium kidney beans. This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States