Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
An excellent recipe!...just like one I had a few years back (but had lost) - so thank you to the chef who posted this! If considering subsitutions...I used a can of mixed beans and a can of chickpeas...left out the onions and used celery salt instead of the seed. Very minor adjustments as I didn't have the exact ingredients and not alot of time to throw it together. I've already sneaked a few mouthfuls in and it was only made in the past hour! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was looking for a recipe like this one because I had this type of salad at a friend"s and wanted to make my own. This tasted almost the same but I would have to admit mine was better. Lol!Thanks for sharing. I have continued to make it and I really love it in the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomazob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Yum! This was GREAT! I've always been a fan of three-bean salad and am thrilled to have FINALLY found a recipe that I can add to my permanent file. :) Sure, the canned stuff is good (yes, I like canned bean salad...), but this is SOOO much better! Because I knew I'd be the only person in my household eating this, I halved everything. My grocer sells 8 oz. cans of green and wax beans, so I only ended up with half a can of wasted kidney beans (I'll add those to soup or chili next week). Simply superb! Thanks for sharing your secret recipe, Eleanor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Great recipe; cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and double the canned vegetables. Let sit over night and stir well before serving. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious and perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
We love this recipe and is a staple at all of our cookouts. A very flexible recipe. I use green, kidney, and black beans. I do cut down on the sugar a bit but this is only because I like it with apple cider vinegar. White vinegar needs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
The recipe's dressing proportions are way off, hence the 3-star rating. Taking down the sugar/oil level to make it healthier, I loved this salad. Will definitely make it again! Subbed a shallot for the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I wasn't fond of this salad. Took it to a Christmas potluck. Maybe just too many other wonderful food items but this one wasn't a hit and I'll never make this version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed a lot of the suggestions, cutting down on the sugar and using red wine vinegar.. also added peas as well. This really was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Quite oily, sour, and overpoweringly celery-tasting. I used dried beans instead of canned, so maybe the extra salt of canned beans would change the flavor... but I would not count on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States