Three Bean Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I love this bean salad. I put it all together, let it sit in the fridge for one day and then pour the excess juice off and serve it as a dip with lime tortilla chips. Makes an amazing, fun & healthy appetizer (of course it is also excellent the regular way, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
The absolute best-tasting bean salad I've ever made. Sweet and zesty all at once with great colour. Gets better the longer it marinades. I would suggest, if you can, making it 2 to 3 days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canuckguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I made this for a company holiday potluck. it made a LOT of bean salad (I should have known, with 5 types of beans!), but about half was eaten, which I think is pretty good since there were a bunch of other salads there. I made this about 2 days in advance and it definitely tasted better the longer it sat in the fridge. I used apple cider vinegar and regular mustard, not dried-just make sure you use about twice as much as dried since it's not as strong. overall, it was pretty good. maybe a bit too onion-y for those who don't like their breath stinking all day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I use this recipe all the time. It can't really be beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
A tasty salad with a nice variety of flavors and textures. I modified the recipe by using thawed frozen green beans so they'd be firmer. The 3/4 cup of sugar made it a little too sweet; next time I'll probably only put in 1/4 cup. The 3/4 cup of oil made it a bit greasy; next time I'll probably put in just 1/4 cup, and olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Celery would probably be a nice addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonburnt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was a BIG hit at an annual family reunion this past weekend. I did tweek the recipe by omitting the garbanzo beans, tarragon and cilantro. The flavor was delightful and presentation of such a colorful salad was nice too. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to make something for a gathering - it's a nice change and makes a great addition to any setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaAshley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I think this recipe has possibilities, but I thought it too moist and soft. Yet, I cut back on oil and sugar. I would eliminate the black beans. I may be at fault and did not allow the dressing to cool longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I always thought I hated beans until I tried this recipe. I'm just learning how to cook and this was so easy. The only thing I would change would be using less oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent and easy bean salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerquartet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pekin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
mmm mmm mmm! I marinated it in a big freezer bag - works better than bowl, just flip the bag to mix a few times throughout the day & easier to transport to a bbq/potluck I improvised a bit -used 1/2 the sugar -olive oil instead of vegetable oil -added 1 clove garlic -added black pepper -gabonzo beans couldn't find any - used chickpeas maybe thats what they're called here in Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States