Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Good recipe, but I made a few changes - cut the sugar to 1/4 cup, added a small diced green bell pepper and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also used fresh green beans that I cut in small pieces and boiled 2-3 minutes, then rinsed in cold water. You can also use chick peas instead of yellow beans. Let marinate overnight and mix a few times during this time. Bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I have made this recipe several times now to raves. Yes, this is a sweet version, however, like any marinade, it's not meant to be eaten really. I serve mine with a slotted spoon, that way, you're not consuming all of this marinade with the salad, and you won't lose any flavor because the salad has been marinated. Try it, you'll like it better served this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Don't forget the garbanzo beans for a great 4 bean salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Just the way I remember three-bean salad! I made this for my British husband who had never heard of this classic American salad, and he LOVED it! I added more salt and pepper and substituted garbanzo beans for the wax beans. Yum! Perfect for bringing on our camping trip. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
It was a good basic recipe, although I made slight changes. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and it was plenty sweet. Also used butter beans and garbanzo beans in place of kidney beans and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Become one of my staples for summer picnics since it is a great salad with no mayo. I usually only use 1/3 cup of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Good recipe, but too sweet for our tastes. I just cut the sugar in half the second time I made it and it was perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Great 3 bean salad recipe! I also add green pepper, and sometimes peas or chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Surprisingly good!. I use only 1/3 cup sugar and 1/4 cup oil and it turned out great. I have made this 3 times in the last month since it is so easy, healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This salad is great. I was a little skeptical about all the sugar, but added more vinegar and it was wonderful. I also used celery salt instead of celery seed, and added slices of pickled spicy garlic. Boyfriend loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States