Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Really excellent. I don't use white sugar so I sweetened with honey, to my taste. Threw in a can of corn, too. Made lots for our strawberry and soft crab fest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
The perfect recipe for traditional sweet and tangy three bean salad. Having read the reviews I added the sugar a little at a time, tasting in between -- and ended up using it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Too sweet for me. Next time I'm skipping the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
good but could be a little sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Yummy! The only things I changed were adding garbanzo beans instead of wax beans because I had them on hand and adding a can of drained artichoke hearts. The marinade is delicious! Not too sweet or too tangy! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I tried this with chickpeas instead of wax beans and I think next time I would prefer wax beans instead. Also, the sugar needs to REALLY be cut down to 1/4 cup. Salt and celery seed should both be upped to 1 whole teaspoon in my opinion. And I will try it with only vegetable oil next time instead of substituting olive oil to see how that makes it taste. But with these changes it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Perfect! Although I used 2 cans of each of the beans and still had plenty of juice/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Amazing! My family and friends loved this. The recipe calls for a whole onion, but it really only needed 1/2 an onion. Also, would recommend mixing all of the liquid ingredients before tossing in the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I like the concept, and was hoping to like this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding an extra can of drained & rinsed garbanzo beans and cutting down the sugar to 1/4 cup based on other reviews, but it was still WAY TOO SWEET for everyone in my family. We all thought the sweetness ruined the dish, and I had to pour out the liquid in the bottom of the bowl and douse it with more vinegar before serving to even make it edible. If you don't like sweet side salads you definitely will not like this recipe. I'd recommend skipping the sugar while making it entirely and adding a small amount an hour or so before serving if you think it needs it - you can always add more, but you can't take it out once it's there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was EXACTLY my granny's three bean salad recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it. I took a big bite and instantly was about 8 years old sitting at her dining room table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States