Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
My guests and I really enjoyed this salad. I modified it as some other reviewers have and only used 1/2 cup sugar and added garbanzo beans. Great summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Just like my dad used to make, though I added a 7 3/4 can of garbonzo beans and held off on the onions. Great BBQ side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Ellsworth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This salad is great. I was a little skeptical about all the sugar, but added more vinegar and it was wonderful. I also used celery salt instead of celery seed, and added slices of pickled spicy garlic. Boyfriend loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
i leave out the celery seed. add diced green pepper, about a quarter cup to a single recipe. the same amount as the onion. never serve this without the recipe printed out, you will be asked for it. taste to see if you want a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I used 1/2 cup sugar and added a can of chickpeas, as suggested, and it was almost perfect. The only change I would make is to use less onion as the onion flavor was a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTCHN6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
Really outstanding. Stay away from substituting fava beans, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
EXCELLENT RECIPE - I ADDED A CAN OF GARBANZO BEANS, AND ANOTHER CAN OF KIDNEY BEANS, TOO - THIS IS A YUMMY RECIPE !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Very good. Used 1 can waxed beans instead of 1 pound. Also, substituted Splenda for sugar and reduced that to 1/2 cup. It is still a bit sweet, so next time will reduce it to 1/3 cup. Used only 1/2 of a large sweet onion and substituted celery salt for the regular salt and eliminated the celery seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Very good. Easy to make. I use Slenda for the sugar, taste great. I will make at least 3 times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I love this one! I added a can of lima beans to it and made it 4 bean salad. Very good, and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oaksfan
Living In: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States