Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is just your basic no frills three bean salad recipe, but, was very tasty! Based on the other reviews I started out with 1/2 cup of sugar, tasted it, and ended up adding the additional 1/4 cup to use the entire amount the recipe called for. The only changes I made were to add 1/2 chopped green pepper and cider vinegar since that is what I had in the house. Very easy and flavorful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this salad! This is the closest recipe I could find to the one that my mother-in-law makes. I don't add the celery seed, and I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup. I also add garbanzo beans, and a diced bell pepper. I brought this to the Easter potluck, and my friend who manages a bakery and cafe took the rest home with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Good but makes a LOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This salad was 'okay'. I left out the onions, and threw in some artichoke hearts. This recipe just tasted like something was missing though.... But I can't put my finger on it. I think it needs some extra mustard seed or something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This salad is delicious! I made it for a cookout and everyone loved it. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is just what I was looking for. It has served as side dishes for meals and a snack at work. It is packed with fiber and is filling and the taste...out of this world. I did change some things, I used canned wax beans, green beans and butter beans. Nothing that would of changed the taste of the dressing. Thanks for sharing, will be great for all my summer parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I gave this recipe five stars because I made this for my parent and they loved it. I thought it was just okay, really kind of sweet and I used less sugar then called for. For myself I wouldn't make it but like I said the family really liked it. I would only make it for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Only put 1/2 cup sugar and was sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Just the way I remember three-bean salad! I made this for my British husband who had never heard of this classic American salad, and he LOVED it! I added more salt and pepper and substituted garbanzo beans for the wax beans. Yum! Perfect for bringing on our camping trip. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Just the way 3 bean salad should taste. Its now the only 3 bean salad recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States