Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Excellent taste! I used fresh green beans, canned chick peas and white kidney beans as they all I had on hand. The sweetness has my bean-shy husband eating seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Edit: Made this again tonight with a can of mixed beans, thinly sliced baby carrots, finely chopped jalapeno pepper, frozen peas, yellow onion, parsley and cider vinegar. YUM! Excellent recipe to jump off from! All I had in my kitchen (literally) was a bag of Bob's Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix, a red onion, honey, olive oil and vinegar. I cooked the beans with salt and garlic powder and while they were still warm I mixed them with the olive oil, honey, and some zinfandel vinegar from Sonoma Lake Winery. Then I added the sliced red onion. I also included the s&p and celery seed which added a great flavor. The honey instead of sugar was very good and healthier! I'm saving this recipe and will definitely make it again, even with the 13 bean mix - though next time I might pick out the lentils to give the finished product a cleaner appearance. Use any beans you like for this recipe, and as many different types, it doesn't have to just be 3. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I thought it was too sweet at first but it just needs time for the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
So great. I added chick peas and a red bell pepper. I suggest this recipe to everyone! Great for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Good recipe, but I made a few changes - cut the sugar to 1/4 cup, added a small diced green bell pepper and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also used fresh green beans that I cut in small pieces and boiled 2-3 minutes, then rinsed in cold water. You can also use chick peas instead of yellow beans. Let marinate overnight and mix a few times during this time. Bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is just your basic no frills three bean salad recipe, but, was very tasty! Based on the other reviews I started out with 1/2 cup of sugar, tasted it, and ended up adding the additional 1/4 cup to use the entire amount the recipe called for. The only changes I made were to add 1/2 chopped green pepper and cider vinegar since that is what I had in the house. Very easy and flavorful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this salad! This is the closest recipe I could find to the one that my mother-in-law makes. I don't add the celery seed, and I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup. I also add garbanzo beans, and a diced bell pepper. I brought this to the Easter potluck, and my friend who manages a bakery and cafe took the rest home with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Good but makes a LOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This salad was 'okay'. I left out the onions, and threw in some artichoke hearts. This recipe just tasted like something was missing though.... But I can't put my finger on it. I think it needs some extra mustard seed or something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This salad is delicious! I made it for a cookout and everyone loved it. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States