Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I have made this recipe several times now to raves. Yes, this is a sweet version, however, like any marinade, it's not meant to be eaten really. I serve mine with a slotted spoon, that way, you're not consuming all of this marinade with the salad, and you won't lose any flavor because the salad has been marinated. Try it, you'll like it better served this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This recipes is ok. We did things a little differently after reading the reviews and it came out the way we wanted. We only used 1/4 Cup of Sugar, 1/2 Cup of Vinegar and 1/8 Cup Olive Oil. We also used Green Onion instead of regular onion. Also, with this recipe you can basically use any type of beans you want; in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Very good recipe but too much dressing for our taste and a little too sweet. Followed the recipe exactly except that I added 2 cans of green beans. Next time I will decrease the entire dressing ingredients and the sugar to 1/4 cup. Otherwise delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I LOVED this recipe. i read the reviews and was going to modify the recipe but decided to try it first and then see. I am so glad I didn't. It was great! Tangy sweet. Simply perfect. Thank you for this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This was wonderful it disappered real quickly. I would cut down on sugar and oil next time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Very good stuff! I used 1/2 c. sugar instead of 3/4 c. I also cut down the oil. I used about 2 T of olive oil and it tastes great, even though I have not put it in the fridge overnight yet! mmmmmmmmm Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Everyone loves this recipe!! I used chick peas instead of green beans. I also used a purple onion. I have made it many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I've been looking for a bean salad recipe that would be close to what I get every friday at a local market. With a minor modification, this takes just like it. Let this marinade for about 2 days to get the full flavors of the onion to come out. I added more vinegar and suggest to cut the sugar in this recipe otherwise way too sweet. Pour on top of romaine lettuce and sprinkle with feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Good recipe. First time I made a salad like this... Good for potlucks where you have vegetarians. I made it as a side for thanksgiving. Read the other reviews, decreased the sugar to 1/2cup, added one can garbanzo beans, one can black beans, and did NOT increase the other ingredients, and it was a great 5 bean salad... not having had this salad before, I can only go by what my family and friends said, and what I tasted ofcourse! One tip I still need... could not find anyone who knew what wax beans are... I ended up using canepelli beans? I am not sure what the can is supposed to read in the recipe, but the grocery store did not have a can of "wax beans". Suggestions? What I liked best? Makes a lot, costs little, and almost no work at all. Also, I used apple cider vinegar instead of distilled because I needed that for the cranberry chutney I recipe and did not want to buy both. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Eleanor? I prepared exactly from beginning to end. I didn't add any extra ingredients or leave any out. What a wonderful recipe. Now I don't have to wait to enjoy this from a salad bar. I have my very own recipe thanks to you. 5 Star YUMS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States