Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Excellent taste! I used fresh green beans, canned chick peas and white kidney beans as they all I had on hand. The sweetness has my bean-shy husband eating seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Edit: Made this again tonight with a can of mixed beans, thinly sliced baby carrots, finely chopped jalapeno pepper, frozen peas, yellow onion, parsley and cider vinegar. YUM! Excellent recipe to jump off from! All I had in my kitchen (literally) was a bag of Bob's Red Mill 13 Bean Soup Mix, a red onion, honey, olive oil and vinegar. I cooked the beans with salt and garlic powder and while they were still warm I mixed them with the olive oil, honey, and some zinfandel vinegar from Sonoma Lake Winery. Then I added the sliced red onion. I also included the s&p and celery seed which added a great flavor. The honey instead of sugar was very good and healthier! I'm saving this recipe and will definitely make it again, even with the 13 bean mix - though next time I might pick out the lentils to give the finished product a cleaner appearance. Use any beans you like for this recipe, and as many different types, it doesn't have to just be 3. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I thought it was too sweet at first but it just needs time for the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
So great. I added chick peas and a red bell pepper. I suggest this recipe to everyone! Great for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Good recipe, but I made a few changes - cut the sugar to 1/4 cup, added a small diced green bell pepper and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also used fresh green beans that I cut in small pieces and boiled 2-3 minutes, then rinsed in cold water. You can also use chick peas instead of yellow beans. Let marinate overnight and mix a few times during this time. Bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is just your basic no frills three bean salad recipe, but, was very tasty! Based on the other reviews I started out with 1/2 cup of sugar, tasted it, and ended up adding the additional 1/4 cup to use the entire amount the recipe called for. The only changes I made were to add 1/2 chopped green pepper and cider vinegar since that is what I had in the house. Very easy and flavorful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I can't even begin to tell you how much I love this salad! This is the closest recipe I could find to the one that my mother-in-law makes. I don't add the celery seed, and I cut the sugar down to 1/4 a cup. I also add garbanzo beans, and a diced bell pepper. I brought this to the Easter potluck, and my friend who manages a bakery and cafe took the rest home with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Good but makes a LOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This salad was 'okay'. I left out the onions, and threw in some artichoke hearts. This recipe just tasted like something was missing though.... But I can't put my finger on it. I think it needs some extra mustard seed or something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This salad is delicious! I made it for a cookout and everyone loved it. Thanks Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States