Three Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I tried this with chickpeas instead of wax beans and I think next time I would prefer wax beans instead. Also, the sugar needs to REALLY be cut down to 1/4 cup. Salt and celery seed should both be upped to 1 whole teaspoon in my opinion. And I will try it with only vegetable oil next time instead of substituting olive oil to see how that makes it taste. But with these changes it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Perfect! Although I used 2 cans of each of the beans and still had plenty of juice/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Amazing! My family and friends loved this. The recipe calls for a whole onion, but it really only needed 1/2 an onion. Also, would recommend mixing all of the liquid ingredients before tossing in the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I like the concept, and was hoping to like this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for adding an extra can of drained & rinsed garbanzo beans and cutting down the sugar to 1/4 cup based on other reviews, but it was still WAY TOO SWEET for everyone in my family. We all thought the sweetness ruined the dish, and I had to pour out the liquid in the bottom of the bowl and douse it with more vinegar before serving to even make it edible. If you don't like sweet side salads you definitely will not like this recipe. I'd recommend skipping the sugar while making it entirely and adding a small amount an hour or so before serving if you think it needs it - you can always add more, but you can't take it out once it's there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was EXACTLY my granny's three bean salad recipe. Thank you so much for sharing it. I took a big bite and instantly was about 8 years old sitting at her dining room table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz in Marlin, TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marlin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I found this to be very easy and tasty. It's better if you make it the day before so the flavors can come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This is absolutely delicious! I have made this with the follwing changes: only use 1/3 c sugar since I don't like it really sweet but it still has some hint of the sugar; use the beans as called for in the recipe and add garbanzo beans and cut artichoke hearts (in water); recently also added canned black beans - very good. There is enough liquid that you don't need to alter it when you add the additional items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I liked the fact that this recipe wasn't too vinegary, but I found it too sweet; I would definitely use less sugar (half) less time. I used diced celery in place of the seed, and it added a really nice crunch that lasted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erzsybear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
WOW! Absolutely fantastic! I too used a little less sugar and a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Quick. Good. I read the other reviews first. I went w/ dark red kidney beans, green beans and garbanzo beans; I also used red onion and had some fresh parsley on hand, so I tossed it in. Used "fine" red vine vinegar and EVOO. S&P to taste. After reading the reviews, I did not add the sugar immediately--I added to taste as well. . . .3/4 c of sugar seemed overwhelming. Do not know how much I ultimately used, but can say it wasn't near 3/4 c. Missing a little bite that I guess I was used to growing up with this dish. Next time I'll try this recipe w/ apple cider vinegar instead of red wine vinegar for more bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States