Three Bean Potluck Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I've made this recipe about a dozen times before, but never doubled it until yesterday. I found that adding the liquid from all 4 cans of kidney and butter beans makes it too soupy. It's usually much thicker. If I double it again, I will proabably try omitting the liquid from one or two cans of beans. Regardless, it still tasted delicious and everyone loved it! I cooked it in a 6-qt. crock pot for 3 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
LOVED this. Added more bacon and it was grrreat!! Will make at all summer picnics and get togethers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was so easy to make! Fry up the bacon, cook the meat and the onion in the same pan, dump in the rest and voila! I eyeballed the sugar, ketchup, mustard, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaudert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I have made a similar recipe for years. Only difference is 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp vinegar and regular mustard. If kidney beans aren't your favorite (like my husband), try substituting great northern or navy. Also, to lower the fat I always use turkey bacon. Sometimes I also used ground turkey just to make it taste different and to justify the cheddar cheese I sprinkle all over the top at the end! I guess I will admit that even when I use ground beef I still sprinkle on the cheddar just less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very good recipe-meat definately played the starring role in this dish. I followed the recipes exactly and this was a big hit. This recipe is also very generous in it's portion size and could very well serve as a main dish. I will definately make this again and maybe add another can of beans to throw off the abundnace of meat:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
It was just ok for me..Basically tasted like baked beans w/meat..My husband liked it so i am sure i will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was delicious, even my kids agree. I served it over elbow noodles with a green salad. I used a larger can of baked beans, because that's what I had on hand, plus regular mustard instead of dry. It was very filling. Half was frozen for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Makes an excellent meal and I've been asked for the recipe several times. A keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This was very good, and went together quickly. I used bbq baked beans and cannellini in place of the butter beans. I drained the kidney beans and cannellini , and added half a beer to make up for the lost liquid. I cooked it in in my crockpot on high for 2 hours (I think another hour would have been better). My crockpot was scraped clean at the neighborhood potluck, so I guess it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Great dish for a one-pot dinner. I also like to add some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States