Three Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
Very quick and easy. I passed out 5 copies of the recipe the first time I served it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
All the ingredients in this are things that I like so I figured it was worth trying. I gave it five stars. It's not a prime rib five star but for taste it's definately a fast five star meal. I did change the a few things. I used kielbasa instead of hot dogs because my wife wont eat hot dogs but likes kielbasa. I uses white beans instead of the honey beans and added a can of pinto beans, making it a four bean casserole, just to take up the extra room in a 9x13 casserole dish. I also added a sprinke of garlic powder and pepper. I couldn't get enough of this tasty treat! Thanks Joann for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Great Baked Beans recipe. I'd use as a side dish though, and not your main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTIE GARDINER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This was a hit for a family picnic yesterday. We changed the franks to bacon, white beans instead of pinto and omitted the oregano. Next time we'll repeat but include the pinto and oregeno as suggested. We like the idea of Kelbasa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Tripled the recipe for work lunch. Was a huge hit. Added a couple squirts of ketchup, a little salt and pepper. Used great northern beans instead of butter beans. Baked the night before, reheated stovetop and served in a large crock pot. Family requested a batch for tonight! Nice change from Calico beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This is a tasty recipe. My husband loves this and so do the kids. Will have to try the kielbasa instead of the hot dogs for a change...Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I think I would have given it a 5, had I known wether or not the instructions are correct. The way I made it, I consider it a 5. My kids loved them. My husband said they were good. That's pretty good to hear it out of him. Because the only thing he really LOVES is steak. If he says it's good, it must be. ****FOLLOW UP**** I was in the canned bean section of the grocery store and noticed "chili beans", which are just pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was great! I did want to lick my plate. I used the beef sausage I had in the freezer. I don't like hot dogs so for me this change was imperative. ;) And I added 2-3 tablespoons of rum after I took the dish out of the oven. The rum is a fab addition, but I tasted the beans before adding the rum and it was great without it, too. We had it with Taste of Home's Creamy Coleslaw from this site (minus the celery salt in that recipe). Corn sticks would be perfect with these beans. Edit to add for previous reviewer: chili beans are a canned bean product. I had not bought them before. But they are just beans in a bit of a chili sauce. I drained both the chili beans and the butter beans. The beans still had lots of liquid after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I made this a few years ago for my husband and his girlfriend(Ididn't know at the time) and everyone loved it, especially me. I have been looking for the recipe thought because I lost it after I left the husband. I am so glad I found it again....Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This recipe was OK, definately not a "main dish" but more of a side dish that would be good for potlucks or picnics. I subbed in those little party wieners, and that turned out ok but I think I would stick with the franks next time. From this recipe I also discovered that I dislike butter beans, but to each their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States