Three Animal Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
A great recipe-- my husband doesn't like most meatballs, but he loves these. I skip the step of browning them on the stove, and just put them straight in the oven. I use 1/3 cup measure when I'm making the meatballs so they're all the same size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
These are really good. I made them with the beef, turkey & sausage just like the recipe called for. I used a 1/4 cup measure to portion out the meat. I got 22 meatballs. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
These are very moist and flavorful. They also freeze really well for a quick weeknight dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This is a WONDERFUL recipie! I think it's the best made with hot italian sausage. Then after the meatballs are browned in a pan, I transfer them to a baking pan, pour a jar of spaghetti sauce over them and bake. Then top with parmesan cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
My own meatball recipe is very similar to this one. I only used half the amount of oats and bread crumbs in this recipe. In it's place I used a 1/2 cup of fresh shredded romano cheese and sometimes fresh chopped parsley!! Since I usually cook my small to medium sized meatballs in red sauce I don't pre-brown them. I also use minced onions and not chopped. I tried the Quick Pasta Sauce recipe with the meatballs and cooked on low 3 hours on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
These are truly awesome meatballs! I always like to use ground turkey with my meatballs anyway, and I think the oatmeal added to this recipe really helps to set up the meatballs. This is definitely a "keeper" for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Yummy! I added some fennel seed and a few drops of hot sauce. I got a bunch of compliments on them, especially because it was my first time making meatballs. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made this last year for xmas eve, and they were the biggest hit. We always have a traditional Italian dinner. It has already been "requested" that I make them again. This Italian family loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This recipe is now the basis for all my meatloaf and meatball dishes! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
These are freakin awesome! I made some smaller and some bigger and had a total of 52 meatballs! I saved them for later! After cooking in the oven, they are perfect for just an appetizer. Bite size to pop in your mouth, I ate 3 before putting them in sauce to simmer. I found if you didnt brown the whole meatball, you had a flying saucer shaped meatball but still flippin tasty! I used a half pound of spicy italian sausage and it gave a nice little kick! My new favorite food! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth_has_sandy_cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waldport, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States