Three Animal Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Best recipe for Meatballs Ive tried on this site! I did make some tweaks: Didnt have beef so I used 1 lb hot italian sausage and 1 lb turkey. Used 1/3 cup bread crumbs, 1/3 cup oats, half an onion, one egg, and added garlic. Once they were done cooking in the oven, I put them on a baguette bread with marinara sauce and sprinkled mozzarella on it and popped back in the oven for 8 mins or so at 410 degrees just to melt and brown the cheese. Hubby said it was the best meatballs I ever made :-D Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
These were very good meatballs. My turkey and ground beef amounts were slightly greater than the recipe called for, so after cooking a sample for seasoning, I found that I needed a bit more seasoning. I added some garlic powder, about a half cup of parmigiano reggiano and a few good shakes of worcestershire sauce. I did not brown them, I put them directly in my convection oven and then into a pot of pasta sauce. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These are great meatballs! I used ground sausage instead of beef (can't have it), then used 3 eggs,1 C.oats instead of bread, and I also added 3 cloves of chopped garlic.This made huge meatballs that I just browned in a pan and then poured over it: 29 oz. Hunts Tomato Sauce, 1 tsp brown sugar, 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 tsp. Oregano, 1/2 tsp. Thyme, 1/2 tsp. Basil,and 1 Bay leaf(let it simmer in a pan a little bit before pouring over it.)Let it simmer till meatballs are done then add 2 C. shredded Mozz.and continue cooking till cheese is melted.Also makes great meatball sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These meatballs were great! I did make a few alterations. I used ground pork instead of sausage, I added fresh garlic, a little nutmeg, and I fried them in extra virgin olive oil instead of veg oil. Also, we made HUGE meatballs (about baseball size) We fried and baked them a little longer than directed becasue they were so big. They were fantastic! Recommended for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Made this recipe this morning...in fact I am eating one right now!!!! They are great!!!! I really enjoy the flavour and the texture. Tonight my family will be eating them with my homemade pasta sauce and I'm sure they will enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
So far this recipe is the best we've had. I made meatball sandwiches with them and my entire family LOVED them and want it again, anytime. My husband has been wanting a different meatball recipe for a while and I couldn't find any he liked until now. I have 3 teenagers and they all gave me the thumbs up. Thanks for the wonderful recipe, it is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Wonderful! My husband could not stop eating them, and my 2 year old ate his fair share, too! Due to some allergies, we cannot eat beef, so I used 1 and 1/2 lbs Italian sausage and 1 and 1/2 lbs turkey. They were wonderfully spicy, moist, and delicious. I also did not brown them before putting them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
The best meatballs I've ever had. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
My own meatball recipe is very similar to this one. I only used half the amount of oats and bread crumbs in this recipe. In it's place I used a 1/2 cup of fresh shredded romano cheese and sometimes fresh chopped parsley!! Since I usually cook my small to medium sized meatballs in red sauce I don't pre-brown them. I also use minced onions and not chopped. I tried the Quick Pasta Sauce recipe with the meatballs and cooked on low 3 hours on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was disappointing. I did change it up a bit by omitting the turkey & oats. I added garlic powder also but it still turned out pretty bland. It needs salt and/or more spices..was not as flavorful as I had hoped. I had to drown it in pasta sauce which made it ok, but just a very so-so lifeless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States