Thousand Island Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is good & oh so easy. I did make a few changes though to make it more reminiscent of my mother's recipe: I use almost 1/2 cup chili sauce with only a squirt of ketsup, and add a healthy squeeze of lemon juice to cut the sweetness of the relish, which I only use 1-2 T of. I also sub Old Bay or Season All for the pinch salt/pepper. My favorite use for this dressing is for crab louie salad, so once the I have made the dressing I add a bunch of imitation crab meat and chopped or baby shrimp and serve it over iceberg or butter lettuce with avocado, tomato and hardboiled eggs. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Wow- all the money you can save by making your own dressing- AND it's as good if not better than the bottled kind! I just added a few drops of worceshrshire sauce- it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This is a really good version of Thousand Island Dressing for sure! I cut the recipe in half and followed the directions with the exception of adding some water to thin it out a bit - and I did eyeball the ingredients (didn't measure anything). The end result was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Well, nothing fancy here and it works great in a pinch! This is especially good on sandwiches vs. salads as it's not like the "authentic" type but more of the get down to basics type of thousand island dressing. I cut the recipe in half and used chili sauce vs. ketchup for a little more "kick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Good homemade Thousand Island Dressing.... mine turned out very very sweet... probably just another instance where miracle whip doesn't cut it... I took the advice of an other reviewer and added seasoned salt to counter act the sweetness... seemed to work decently... I also added 1 boiled egg chopped up to make it more authentic... will go good with my ruebens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was okay, but REALLY sweet for our taste, and I even cut the relish in half. Next time I'd half the relish and the relish....I may even try dill relish. Used it on Reubens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I wanted thousand island dressing for Rubens, but did not want to buy an entire bottle. So, I tried making my own with this recipe as my base and it was excellent. I only wanted enough for 2 sandwiches. So, I just eyeballed the ingredients to make what I needed and it turned out wonderful. I did add about 3-4 drops of worcestershire sauce and the juice of half a small lemon. Thank you so much. I no longer have to waste a bottle of dressing for Rubens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this recipe. Its very good I added a little garlic powder. But then I add garlic to everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I found this simply an very good Just tweet it to your taste Thanks Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made this to go with the Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Reubens, and it was perfect. I'm not a huge fan of Thousand Island Dressing on salad, so it was nice to just be able to make a small amount. I think I can safely say I will never bother purchasing store-bought Thousand Island Dressing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States