Thousand Island Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My recipe is very similar but I add 3 boiled eggs finely chopping and instead of salt and pepper, about 2 tsp Lawry's seasoning salt to counter balance the sweetness of the pickle relish. Also, I use bread and butter pickles sometimes instead of the sweet pickle relish and it gives it an extra good taste. Bear in mind, the more ketchup you use, the sweeter it will be as ketchup contains more sugar than most people realize. I suggest adding a little bit of ketchup at a time tasting as you go. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Well, nothing fancy here and it works great in a pinch! This is especially good on sandwiches vs. salads as it's not like the "authentic" type but more of the get down to basics type of thousand island dressing. I cut the recipe in half and used chili sauce vs. ketchup for a little more "kick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I have been making this recipe for a long time. I haven't bought dressing in years. Don't need to. I just put a little of everything in a small bowl. Don't measure! Just get it to where I want it and go! It really is easy and uses ingredients you should already have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
easy and excellent on ruebens, which was exactly what I was looking for! Thanks Sue, you saved me from buying an entire bottle just for it to go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LKROWELL
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is actually a very good recipe for a quick and simple dressing. I made this recipe for my husband since he's the thousand island dressing lover. I prefer ranch myself. He thought is was way too sweet but otherwise did taste like thousand island dressing. I suggest adding small amounts of sweet pickle relish at a time (which is what I should have done, my fault) to get your desired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is the recipe I was raised on! No fancy bell pepper, vinegar or worcestershire sauce, just the main ingredients that make it taste so good. Great on Reuben sandwiches and wedges of iceburg lettuce! The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I made a 1/2 recipe and used a lot less (proportionally) relish. I have always purchased TI dressing but this is so easy I might not buy bottled again. I'm torn. It's REALLY easy pouring out of the bottle and I feel like I can keep it for weeks in the fridge. I'm not so sure how long homemade will keep though so making a big batch is out of the question. Even as easy as it is, I can't say as I want to have to mix it up every time I need some. Even so I'll bet it's a whole lot cheaper to make like this than buying the bottled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for the great, easy recipe. My grandma used to make this dressing when I was a little girl. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Anything this easy and good gets a 5 in my book! We made it to put on cheesburgers and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN5502

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This is...thousand island dressing, plain and simple. It is delicious, super easy to make, and I bet you have the ingredients around the house! This is so much more fun than bottled dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maumee, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States