Thousand Island Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My recipe is very similar but I add 3 boiled eggs finely chopping and instead of salt and pepper, about 2 tsp Lawry's seasoning salt to counter balance the sweetness of the pickle relish. Also, I use bread and butter pickles sometimes instead of the sweet pickle relish and it gives it an extra good taste. Bear in mind, the more ketchup you use, the sweeter it will be as ketchup contains more sugar than most people realize. I suggest adding a little bit of ketchup at a time tasting as you go. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Perfect! Just what I needed! Nice and thick. I used lowfat mayo just to save on calories. I put it in an old Thousand Island dressing bottle, and no one can tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe is very good. I will never buy thousand island again! I did add garlic powder like other suggested. I also added one finely chopped hard boiled egg since I know that is how a restaurant near me makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNA'S MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairlawn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This turned out great! Followed the recipe to the "t"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is so easy & perfect for a rueben sandwich since it's so thick. We also don't eat TI dressing on salads so this really cuts down on waste! Just make sure to let it sit a little while to let the flavors mesh together. I added vinegar, worcestershire and garlic salt but I'm sure it would have been great without it too. My husband said that he liked this better on his reuben than whatever TI dressing his favorite restaurant uses!! Wow what a compliment to this recipe :o) Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
fantastic! I will make it this way everytime now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ween's Cuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Thanks for the recipe...My dressing was out of date and this came in handy....I used my homemade relish...It was very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I thought this recipe was a great place to start. I added some olive oil, a splash of vinegar and a little garlic powder. My husband loves it and has finally stopped insisting that I buy the bottled junk from the store. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
kudos for ease! my mother's recipe for 1000 island is so good, and so time consuming! I was looking for dressing for the Baked Chicken Reuben recipe from this site, and did not want a long time consuming multi ingredient dressing I was only going to pour in a casserole and bake. This fit the job perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDNIGHTMUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lingle, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This worked out perfectly for reubens! Very easy recipe...I didn't measure anything, just adjusted the ingredients until I thought it tasted "right."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States