Thousand Island Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Didn't taste anything like any Thousand Island I've ever had(neither the sweet store bought stuff or the thick creamy restaurant style).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I thought this worked great in a pinch. I loved that it didn't make a ton either. After I measured it out, I realized I accidentally did 2 Tblsp of ketchup and it was fine. I wasn't going to open a can of evaporated milk for a 1/2 tsp so I just used regular milk or 2%. I didn't have pickle spears, so I subbed 2 tsp of relish per other similar recipes. I also used Hellmann's lite mayo and it worked fine. I noticed there wasn't any salt and pepper in the recipe and I did a quick sprinkle of both. I got about 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I increased this recipe to six servings. I used lactose free whole Vitamin D milk and reduced fat mayonnaise in this recipe. Instead of using 1 1/2 of a dill pickle SPEAR (that's what I got when I increased the recipe to six servings), I used two garlic dills. I did taste it after I made it and ended up adding a little onion powder and fresh ground pepper. I used this as a kind-of a dip/side for Potato Reuben Casserole. Kids thought it was fantastic--this would make a great fry dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This dressing was surprisingly good. I did not open a can of evaporated milk but substituted skim milk. Next time will use 1tsp pickle relish. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Really good dressing! I used Hellman's light mayo and chili sauce instead of ketchup. I also subbed in relish for the dill pickle spear. I didn't want to open up a whole can of evaporated milk so I just used skim milk instead. Overall, very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I thought it was wonderful. I did not add worchestershire as I did not have any. I did add a little sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SewKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I didn't want to deal with the evaporated milk, so I left that out and probably added a bit more pickle. I only had bread and butter pickles, and it worked well. I used it in a baked pastrami roll, and it was a success. It only makes a little bit of dressing, which makes me happy that I could use all of it. It's easy, quick and good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Very good, and worked well on reubens, however the evaporated milk may throw you off a bit. I just happened to have extra evap. milk from a different recipe hence the reason I tried this, but I would not open up a can just to use a half tsp. Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was ok, but not as good as the Marzetti Thousand Island dressing I usually use. I would, however, make it again if I wanted to avoid a trip to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Nice addition to a Reuben sandwich, especially because I was free to leave out the pickle, which we both despise! Used Japanese mayo, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States