This and That BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
brown sauce.......is the same as HP sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This sauce turned out great! I too made a few changes. Limited white vinegar to 1/8 cup, add garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne powder, and some liquid smoke. I did not have any lemon juice or dry mustard on hand, but I am sure they would have made the sauce even better. Also, I did increase the brown sugar, as recommended by others. Wonderful recipe, Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a good base for a BBQ sauce. I found it to be too tangy & too sweet. I added quite a few things to it. Just to make it to my family style. I added fresh minced garlic, cracked black pepper, a little bit of coffee, a splash of red wine, a squeeze of grape jelly (I know! But it is good!) and a package of Lipton's Mushroom Onion soup mix. It toned it down and gave it a little more depth. While these flavors would seem to overwhelm and be crazy they come together nicely. Thanks for a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Skipped the Worcestershire sauce, and it still comes out amazing! Super easy and very flavorful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is a wonderful quick and easy sauce. Brown Sauce is an english ketchup-like sauce. I think its similar to brown sauce by Heinz. It's a litte too much vinegar, so I will try with the molasses the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This seems really easy but...What is brown sauce? I increased to 1/2 cup brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup of prepared bbq sauce (weird since the point was to make bbq sauce but I'll put it into the same category as making yogurt--you need yogurt to make yogurt). I also didn't have dry mustard so I put in about a tablespoon of yellow mustard. I eliminated worcestershire sauce because I was out but I think I would use it next time. It turned out sweet and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I also decreased the vinegar to 1/8 cup but it was still a bit tangy for my taste. My husband loved it. It was very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Prepared this to make BBQ pork sandwiches. Really good...sweet and tangy. After reading some of the other reviews I did decrease the amount of white vinegar to 1/8 cup and added just a dash of ground red pepper. Excellent taste and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Lovely sauce, I too used molases as I had no brown sauce. Would say it was a bit vinegary in taste so next time I would cut back on this ingredient. I also did not have mustard powder so used some French's mustard and it work pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this recipe tonight for supper as a sauce for some pulled pork sandwiches but made one change. I was not sure what brown sauce was and neither was the other person who left a review but I did notice that they said it was very vinegary and added more brown sugar to sweeten it up. Well, for my brown sauce interpretation, I substituted molasses in the same amount called for of the brown sauce and it was FANTASTIC!! My husband and son who are both very picky about their BBQ sauce both said it tasted very similar to the sauce used at one of our favorite BBQ hot spot restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bpelotte

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States