Thirty Minute Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I used this recipe this past week for my autistic son thats on a GF/CF/SF diet.The recipe that i used for the self -rising flour was first making all-purpose flour from the book"cooking for isaiah" then adding the correct amounts of potato starch to make it self-rising.I used almond milk for the milk and YES i used the shortening.I did use 3 eggs because I have found in the past that GF/CF/SF Flour and mixes tend to be dry.This was a wonderful cake mix and will be used again for us.yes it was a little bit heavy(more like pound cake)we cut fresh strawberries and frosted it with an icing made of fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
made recipe to spec, was as good as advertise. Soft and moist was everything I was looking for. will make cupcakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was pretty simple and tasted fine. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
NOT FOR CUPCAKES! The cakes were great but the cake was too light for cupcakes and the tops fell off. I stuck them back on with frosting which the kids loved but find another recipie if you are just making cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Love this cake mix. Use it for making an apple cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Yummy! The batter made 6 large cupcakes and a small loaf. They start smelling up the house after 7mins in the oven. There where so moist and spongey. I added 3tsp of baking powder and 1tsp of salt to the 2cup flour and stirred them realy well with a fork (10min). I only used 1cup sugar but I wish I had used 1/2cup (I like things watered down). I added 1 box of cook&serve vannilla pudding & 3eggs and 1 tblsp of vannilla extract. I added the eggs in 1 by one slowly while using my hand mixer till all was creamy (no lumps). Preheated at 375 & turned down to 350 to bake for about 25mins (or so). Perfect they came out bright yellow with narry a brown spot on the sides or bottom. Perfect. Yeyy! See pics I upload
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very good cake. SUPER easy to make. came out perfectly. Best Cake recipe ever. Will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This cake makes a perfect tasteless cake for strawberries & cool-whip... Like a SHORT-CAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moiralong
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe was a terrific base. I made my own self-rising flour (2 cups all-purpose flour, 3 tsps baking powder, and 1/2 tsp salt). As for additional ingredients to the ones listed in the original, I added an extra egg, a packet of sugar-free butterscotch pudding, and 1/4 c light sour cream. It turned out an amazing texture and flavor! I went all out with chocolate frosting and whoppers on top for Mother's Day, but this would be equally good with just cool whip or homemade whipped cream. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moiralong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was great! I did add one more egg and used butter vs shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States