Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I reviewed this earlier but wanted to update because I've made them several times since then. I figured out something; don't put the peppermint extract in the chocolate until it is fully melted. If you put the peppermint extract in the chocolate and then melt it in the microwave the extract burns the chocolate and makes it crumbly and hard, hence those reviewers having to use oil to make it smooth again. Once the chocolate is fully melted stir well and then put your extract in! For the holidays I used white chocolate chips too. Also crushed some peppermints and added green and/or red sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
So easy! What a great idea...that I kind of changed. Instead of Ritz crackers, I used Nabisco Famous chocolate wafers and melted Andes mints. I am not even kidding how great these were! Thin, crispy and chocolaty! I am thinking about making sandwiches with the wafers with marshmellow cream in the middle and then dunking them in the melted Andes mints. Oh the possibilities! Try these, you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: Be sure to use a napkin (or your finger if they're just for you) to wipe up the extra chocolate that spreads around the cookie after you've dipped it, so you don't have a sloppy finish when the chocolate hardens. Another idea is to spread the ritz w/ a little peanut butter & then dip in chocolate! However, be ready to do them fast and put them in the freezer for 5 min. so the pb doesn't melt! UPDATE: So I originally made this and loved the recipe because my kids could make them and it took 5 minutes. Problem is, we would take them to parties, & people easily knew it was a Ritz, and that's kinda embarrassing. Not to mention the salt! So, after trying several cookies, I tried a nilla wafer AND PERFECTION!! They don't break in half easily like ritz, so you can manage them easier and they taste JUST like girl scout cookies and no one can tell it's a nilla wafer inside! On paula dean, they took 2 sugar cookies and baked it w/a mint in the middle so another idea on how to use those mints. I use 1 fork, and give it 2 lifts up and down so the excess chocolate can drip off then place on baking sheet line with foil or wax paper, and it's usually enough to catch all the excess chocolate & I find andes mints taste a LOT better than using the peppermint extract. So, I buy a whole case of andes baking chips when they come out around holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
This is the BEST! It tastes just like the Thin Mint Girl Scout Cookies but it is so easy & much more affordable! I make it every year for Christmas but after the chocolate is set I melt red & green candy melt (in separate bowls) & then drizzle each color in different directions across the top of the cookie. I get many requests for this cookie. My kids love it. They have helped dip the crackers but it gets alittle messy. I found that putting them on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper & then putting the cookie sheet in the freezer really makes things go much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Could NOT be easier! Kids can make this in a snap. Heck, monkeys could make this! I bought the Andes baking chips from my grocery store, melted a couple handfuls in the microwave in a creme brulee cup for about 30 seconds, then mixed it with a fork to be sure it was all melted through. I just dropped my reduced-fat Ritz crackers into the creme brulee cup with melted chocolate (perfect size cup for a Ritz) and used two forks to turn and coat the cracker. Set on paper plates (out of wax paper) and put the plates in the freezer for about two minutes. THAT'S IT FOLKS!! Clean up is a snap! My husband was AMAZED at these. He kept saying "How did you do that?" and looking around the kitchen like there must have been more pans or ingredients; like it was magic. :) In all fairness, there is a teeny tiny, very faint salt taste from the crackers if you really examine them -- but not enough to detract from the taste in any way. I will keep my eyes peeled for plain chocolate wafer cookies. Or, if you really wanted to go for broke, you could buy a bag of oreos and twist apart each cookie to use the two chocolate wafers; you'd have yourself a true thin mint then. This would work well to make mint chocolate dipped oreos, or to dip the ends of a biscotti ... the possibilities are endless. People look so stunned and confused when after biting into the cookie I hearing me say, "It's a Ritz cracker!" Really a fun recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These are awesome! I didn't use bittersweet chocolate however. I always buy little chocolate "buttons" at our local candy supply store so had some semi-sweet/dark chocolate left over from Christmas. Kept adding the peppermint extract until it tasted right. People at work freaked out - thought I'd somehow gotten my cookie order early!!!! I might add that you should not use plain MINT extract. Every time I've used that in ANY candy, it tastes like toothpaste, so be sure and use peppermint! Also, the cold cookie sheet is a must. I've been making candy for years and always had the little "pool" around the chocolate dipped items. This certainly takes care of that problem - looked professional. Also, I used a little Wilton candy dipping tool - plastic with the end looking like a tiny "waffle spatula". Dropped the Ritz in the chocolate, picked it up with the dipping tool and FLIPPED it over onto the cold cookie sheet - perfect! Thanks for the great recipe. I'll be making it again - so much cheaper than the girl scout cookies and frankly, I think a little better. Might try it again with the chocolate wafer cookies someone had mentioned but I still don't see how it could be better than the Ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
So good - but I have a couple of suggestions. Taste your chocolate after adding your peppermint. I didn't taste my chocolate until I was working on my second cookie sheet, and I didn't have enough peppermint flavor, added more and the second sheet tastes just like Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies. First sheet is good, but much better with more peppermint flavor. After dipping crackers, pick cracker up with a fork, tap handle of fork on edge of bowl/double boiler to remove some excess chocolate. Put waxed paper covered cookie sheets in freezer before starting, helps cool these quickly. I am sure I'll have to make more of these in the next 2 days, can't keep hubby out of them. Thanks for recipe, delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! This was soooo easy to make. I melted a little Gulf Wax with a bag of Andes Mint baking pieces,Used a fork to flip the Ritz crackers in the melted mixture then from the pan to 2 wax paper lined cookie sheets. Five minutes in the fridge and you HAVE real Thin Mints just like Girl Scouts. I only got 58 cookies out of this recipe(not 80 like stated) but I can't complain...These are Wonderful and HIGHLY recommended. GREAT RECIPE! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Like a previous reviewer I used Andes mints (thank goodness for after Christmas sales). These are like the real deal!!! By the way, I didn't bother with the double boiler, I just melted the Andes in the microwave :) Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is such a good cookie! Very intersting how a cracker can turn into something so delicious. Also used 2 bags of Andes mints. Kept the chocolate melted in my chocolate dipping pot. Used tongs to flip the crackers. My 5 year old daughter made almost the whole batch after showing her how to do it so really not complicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTPOPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States