Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
UPDATE 12/16: The stores were sold out of Andes baking chips and I opted for Hershey's Mint chocolate chips. I quickly found out that the melted chocolate chips did not have the same consistency as the Andes - too thick and did not set as easily. Ultimately I ended up adding Gulf Wax to the melted chocolate and things went better. They tasted pretty good, but not like the Andes. Next year, I'll be sure to stock up on the Andes baking chips! Following the advice of others, I used the Andes chips instead of the chocolate and peppermint extract. It is amazing how much they taste like Thin Mints! They were a huge hit and SO simple! These will become a definite go-to recipe for gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These were EXCELLENT!! I used the andes mints and ritz and they are perfect. I love recipes like this, great addition to my Christmas candy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Bacon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
good taste but a little more time consuming than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Used the Nabisco cookies and thin mints - and was FABULOUS!! Drizzle with a glaze made of 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 2 drops of mint extract, 3 1/2 tsp water and a little green food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These really did taste just like girl scout cookies!! I took other reveiwers' suggestions and used Nilla wafers (looks nicer and doesn't have any salt). I couldn't find the Andes baking chips other people were talking about so I actually just used the Andes candy and melted those. Everything came out perfectly and it ended up being much easier than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I had made these for Christmas this past year. My son just now reminded me to make these again. They were super easy and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I'm not a great cook, and I have NEVER been the one to bring a dish that everyone raved about... until now! I couldn't believe how much everyone loved these cookies, and they were so easy to make! Someone actually called them "Minty Heaven"! I saw the recipe one day and I happened to have recently purchased a bag of mint-chocolate Hershey's Kisses, so I unwrapped and melted those instead of using the peppermint extract. Make sure to freeze the cookie sheet or else the chocolate will run. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was yummy. I didn't use a double boiler method- I just melted the chips over very low heat in a saucepan. I had to add just a little milk to smooth it out, which makes the chocolate take longer to set, but after putting the cookies in the fridge, it was fine. Very easy- very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
3 simple letters. OMG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I accidentally bought whole grain crackers. I thought they were going to be gross. They were great! I can't belive they turned out so well. I wish there was an easy way to make the chocolate coating thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States