Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
These "cookies" are soooo good! I spent a LOT of time actually making the Thin Mints from scratch and it was such a hassle and a mess. This recipe is much quicker, easier, and tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed these immensely -- and experimented a bit too. We liked the taste of Keebler Club Crackers (multi-grain is what I had in the pantry) as well as the Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafer for the "cookie" base. The buttery flavor of the Club cracker with the mint was surprisingly good, and the texture great! For the chocolate, we tried melted Andes baking chips first as well as melted chocolate CHUNKS w/ extract. Both had good mint taste, but we felt the Andes tasted more like an original Thin Mint and were easier to work with. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made these for a Christmas party and they were a huge hit! Instead of using the bittersweet chocolate I used the Andes Mint Baking chips. I dipped them in the chocolate and then laid them out on a waxed lined cookie sheet and stuck them in the freezer for about 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
These are a pretty accurate replica of the Girl Scouts cookies, but I'm not sure it's worth all the time and mess. I had the same problem as a few others; I microwaved the chocolate to a perfect dipping consistency but as soon as the extract went in, it started to seize and get lumpy. Since it was so thick I had to dip the crackers and then scrape the extra chocolate off so that there was a nice thin, uniform chocolate coating. They set up really nicely in the freezer but then after I took them out the chocolate started to melt again. Huge mess and a hassle! They were a huge messy hassle and they LOOKED that way too. 3 stars for taste, but that's all...Maybe I'll try the Andes mints like others suggested, but this recipe just did not work for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I replaced the crackers with mini chocolate graham sticks and decorated like candy canes. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS!!!! These are SO GOOD!!! I made them with the Andes Creme De Mint Baking Chips and they melted within two minutes in a double boiler! I used both the Ritz Crackers and the Famous Chocolate Wafers and we like them both equally! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I took the simplier route...I bought the Andi's Candies (3 boxes) and melted them in the microwave. I also bought the new Ritz Cracker/Pretzel combo to dip in the chocolate. These were a HUGE hit at a graduation party I made them for...there was so much food there I didn't expect this simple receipe to be the one everyone kept commenting on. Everyone thought they tasted like the Girl Scout cookies! Now I've been told they have to be put on my Christmas cookie list. Great Recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Delicious. I surprised my sister with these since she loves Thin Mint cookies - and she loved these too. I used the Baker's Dipping Chocolate in the microwavable container, added the mint extract after it was melted. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
ok, so i cheated a bit - i discarded the filling (broke my heart) of oreo cookies and coated them with melted andes mint cream chocolates (my grocery store was out of mint extract). i sprinkled some candy sprinkles on top and put in the freezer for a couple minutes and they are PERFECT. cant believe they were so easy to make (even if i did go the chocolate chips and mint extract route). i just had one now, ima go grab another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These are pretty good, but definitely don't taste just like thin mints. Don't use dark chocolate chips with these unless you love dark chocolate. Use the Andes mint chips if you can find them. I tried them both ways...and the mint extract was just too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States