Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is sooo yummy!! I used the Andes baking chips and the snowflake Ritz crackers. They are not salty as I expected. My husband loves them! I brought some to work today and they were a HIT!! I used a toothpick in the center to dip them and they dropped right off onto the cookie sheet! The cookie sheet with wax paper in the freezer beforeheand helped tremendously. Didn't have to put them in the freezer to set. By the time I finished one cookie sheet, they were setting great! Will definitely make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Gee...this tasted like a mint-chocolate covered cracker to me. Maybe with a chocolate cookie base it would be like a thin mint, but not as-is, in my opinion. But maybe I'm just picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were the easiest to make. My family loves them. I will share the recipe with all my friends. I melted my chocolate in the microwave and it goes so much faster. I will be making these all year long. Not just at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATZRULZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
These are great! I used chocolate-flavored almond bark instead of expensive chocolate. It is so much easier to work with--no double boiler required, won't seize up... Unless you're a super-taster, you won't care and it is a lot cheaper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These cookies are awesome!! And they taste just like the girl scout cookies. I took the easy route though. I bought Andes baking chips and since i didnt hava double boiler I just melted the chocolate on low in a saucepan and dipped the low sodium ritz in the chocolate with tongs. awesome and so easy!! My boyfriend and I even ate them for breakfast today :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
i dont know what went wrong but i really disliked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
tastes just like thin mints. used andes & ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: Be sure to use a napkin (or your finger if they're just for you) to wipe up the extra chocolate that spreads around the cookie after you've dipped it, so you don't have a sloppy finish when the chocolate hardens. Another idea is to spread the ritz w/ a little peanut butter & then dip in chocolate! However, be ready to do them fast and put them in the freezer for 5 min. so the pb doesn't melt! UPDATE: So I originally made this and loved the recipe because my kids could make them and it took 5 minutes. Problem is, we would take them to parties, & people easily knew it was a Ritz, and that's kinda embarrassing. Not to mention the salt! So, after trying several cookies, I tried a nilla wafer AND PERFECTION!! They don't break in half easily like ritz, so you can manage them easier and they taste JUST like girl scout cookies and no one can tell it's a nilla wafer inside! On paula dean, they took 2 sugar cookies and baked it w/a mint in the middle so another idea on how to use those mints. I use 1 fork, and give it 2 lifts up and down so the excess chocolate can drip off then place on baking sheet line with foil or wax paper, and it's usually enough to catch all the excess chocolate & I find andes mints taste a LOT better than using the peppermint extract. So, I buy a whole case of andes baking chips when they come out around holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very simple, but good. I did not have any peppermint extract so I used 5 drops of peppermint oil and they are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
AMAZING and better than the real thing!!! So easy and so quick! This will be a staple Holiday cookie every year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States