Thin Mint Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
These were easy but a miss with my family (which doesn't happen often with sweets). They were much too bitter. I drizzled white chocolate on them to help but the kids and my husband still weren't impressed. If I try these again, I'll use a less bitter chocolate or the Andes mints and nilla wafers that others suggested. I think those would be a bigger hit for my clan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I loved these! I followed the reviews of others who suggested using Andes Mints. They worked perfectly. When microwaving, just check every 30 seconds or so and stir until completely melted. After dipping, I topped them with Christmas holiday colored sprinkles. You could do sprinkles for the various holidays, but I think these will hold up better in the cooler weather. Great recipe! Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Love these! Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I love reading reviews on AllRecipes, because they provide so many helpful tips! I made these by melting Andes Mints in the double boiler. I dipped some Ritz Crackers and some Nabisco Famous Wafers. The Ritz were more popular in my house. Don't fret if you can't find Famous Wafers! I drove to five different stores to find them. When I finally did they were a bit pricey and the package was over half broken. The cookies that did survive intact were so thin they broke in the dipping process. Next time, even though it is more time consuming, I am going to split Oreos and remove the creme from the chocolate wafers. They will hold up better and match the Girl Scout cookies in size. (Hey, a whole Oreo would be pretty good too, come to think of it.) Even though my cookies were broken, they still tasted great! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Made exactly per the recipe. My family agreed, these taste just like Thin Mints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Easy and yummy.One of my favorite Holiday cookies to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I have made these for many years. I use equal amounts of dark and milk chocolate for mine with peppermint oil. Definitely don't add peppermint until chocolate is melted. Also, we found that an Easter egg wire dipper works great when dipping the crackers into the chocolate. We have used the snowflake Ritz crackers and they work just as well. We have used blue and white snowflakes on top for a winter theme, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was great! Such a nice treat to enjoy while relaxing. I did the double boiler method and still burned the chocolate, so I had to slowly heat it up in the microwave. The semi-sweet chocolate is a little bitter (for those that love regular chocolate as opposed to dark chocolate), so for those that like milk chocolate, go with milk chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Add some vegetable shortening to chocolate and don't add mint until it's already melted. Freeze the pan before making them. Start with a small amount of mint...you can always add more and it's potent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I used Ritz crackers and Ghirardhelli semi sweet chocolate chips. This was so good! And vegan! Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States