Thin Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
A real hit with friends. I drizzle the icing over the cookies in a zig-zag pattern using a decorator's bag. They look professionally done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Unbelievable! This tastes exactly like Thin Mints (Girl Scout version)! Just make sure you slice the cookies thin enough in order for them to harden. I changed the recipe a little by using Andes Creme De Menthe Chips (2 oz.) and Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (1 oz.) for the coating. Also, I didn't chill mine as long as the recipe says to. I chilled for about 1 1/2 hours and then transferred to the freezer for the 30 minutes before baking. These are delicious and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
They really do taste and look like the Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies....and you get a lot more and they are MUCH cheaper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My family went crazy over these delights. After freezing, I sliced dough on my electric food slicer to achieve perfect,consistent thickness.Instead of drizzling chocolate, I dipped cookie,face down, into chocolate melted in top of double boiler,(had to triple the recipe to have enough)Cookies are firm enough to handle with tongs. End result is near perfect match to Girl Scout version, only better.Well worth the time. Chocolate lover's dream! Keep refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I have to disagree with some reviews, my cookies were amazing! I had read that they were dry, so I just omitted the 1/4 cup of flour, and they are super flavourful. Nice chocolate minty goodness. Woohoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
After our cookie sales had ended, I gathered our GS troop for this homemade version. I had some cookies prepared in stages, so the girls could do each part of the process. We then did a taste test of the GS cookie and our own, all the girls voted that they preferred the homemade version! 10 thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were AWESOME!! And really easy! I did a full tsp of mint in the cookies. And for the chocolate on top I did half a bag of Andes mint baking pieces or 5 oz. and 4 oz of baking chocolate semi sweet and only added 2 TBS of butter. I also used a cheese cutter to make sure the sizes of the cookies were the same. And only about an 1 hr 30 minutes in the freezer, perfect for cutting! And the chocolate on top set up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Super Yummy. I used chocoalte wafers for the coating. When using orange or cherry extract instead of mint, add extra extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very Good eating one now hope I can stop at two. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States