Thin Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe. I always add more mint than called for. I like these better than Girl Scout cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I have to disagree with some reviews, my cookies were amazing! I had read that they were dry, so I just omitted the 1/4 cup of flour, and they are super flavourful. Nice chocolate minty goodness. Woohoo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I had to give this recipe three stars because of the chocolate coating. I followed the recipe exactly and it hardly had any minty flavor since most of it got cooked out while in the oven. The chocolate coating never fully hardened so the cookies HAVE to be refridgerated at all times or else the coating gets soft at room temperature. After my first batch I modified the chocolate by adding the additional two (1 ounce) chocolate squares from the box, a tablespoon of mint extract, and some additonal hershey dark chocolate mini's. I think the problem was in the butter that was added... butter doesn't solidify well at room temp. Maybe less butter next time... or perhaps substitute with a small amount of crisco? After the modifications, the cookies tasted wonderful and adding mint to the chocolate makes a HUGE difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Maybe I expected too much because of the prior reviews but I thought the texture just was too chewy, they were too minty and the chocolate was too sticky. The mint wasn't quite the right flavor or same flavor of mint that the Girl Scouts seem to use. These may be "Thin Mint Cookies" but they certainly aren't close to the Girl Scouts version. I followed the recipe to the letter. Doubt I will ever make these again but may try to see about fixing it somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Unbelievable! This tastes exactly like Thin Mints (Girl Scout version)! Just make sure you slice the cookies thin enough in order for them to harden. I changed the recipe a little by using Andes Creme De Menthe Chips (2 oz.) and Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (1 oz.) for the coating. Also, I didn't chill mine as long as the recipe says to. I chilled for about 1 1/2 hours and then transferred to the freezer for the 30 minutes before baking. These are delicious and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
After our cookie sales had ended, I gathered our GS troop for this homemade version. I had some cookies prepared in stages, so the girls could do each part of the process. We then did a taste test of the GS cookie and our own, all the girls voted that they preferred the homemade version! 10 thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I didn't like this recipe at all. I was not impressed with the mint/chocolate flavor and they could gag you they were so dry. Although these cookies were easy to mix up and shape, they lacked edibility. I had to throw these out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My family went crazy over these delights. After freezing, I sliced dough on my electric food slicer to achieve perfect,consistent thickness.Instead of drizzling chocolate, I dipped cookie,face down, into chocolate melted in top of double boiler,(had to triple the recipe to have enough)Cookies are firm enough to handle with tongs. End result is near perfect match to Girl Scout version, only better.Well worth the time. Chocolate lover's dream! Keep refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
These were a hit, everyone loved them. I thought that they were a little too dry, but I may have over cooked them a little. It was very difficult to determine whether or not they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States