Thin Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Very Good eating one now hope I can stop at two. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Tasted sorta similar. was tasty the day of... but the day after, very hard and weird. ehhhhh. probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devpav1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These were AWESOME!! And really easy! I did a full tsp of mint in the cookies. And for the chocolate on top I did half a bag of Andes mint baking pieces or 5 oz. and 4 oz of baking chocolate semi sweet and only added 2 TBS of butter. I also used a cheese cutter to make sure the sizes of the cookies were the same. And only about an 1 hr 30 minutes in the freezer, perfect for cutting! And the chocolate on top set up perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Good but recipe needs work. Per other reviews, modified flour to 1 c. Did not freeze 30 minutes prior to slicing; they were plenty firm after 5 hours of refridgeration. Also I completely scrapped the suggested dipping combination, as I wanted more mint flavor and a solid finish. I melted 2 pckg Andes baking chips and 1/2 c. of baking wax (Gulf Wax) in a double boiler. Dipped cookies into mixture, dropped onto wax paper, refridgerated 30 minutes, and dipped a second time (only dip one cookie at a time, so they can be removed from hot chocolate mixture immediately, so the first coat doesn't have time to melt off). This resulted in a nice smooth texture with the firm finish the wax provides. Overall, tasty, but not as good as Girl Scouts. I feel the peppermint extract has a bitter aftertaste, so I will try a different recipe next Christmas for chocolate mint cookies that doesn't use the peppermint extract to achieve the minty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These were great-much better than the Girl Scout cookies! I ommitted 1/4 cup of flour and they were the perfect consistency. I didn't refridgerate them for as long as the recipe says; just an hour, and they were fine. I dipped the tops of the cookies in melted semi-sweet chocolate chips (about half the bag), and added about 1/3 tsp of mint extract to the melted chocolate, which I think really helped with the minty taste of the cookies. Also did not add the butter to the melted chocolate...didn't think it was really necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I wish I would have read more of the reviews before doing this recipe - especially given how time-consuming it is. Part way through, I started to wonder if it was worth the money savings to make these at home versus coughing up the $3.50 a box and supporting the girl scouts. The cookie dough was about as easy to work with as partially dried out playdough. I ended up adding about 1/2 c. of water and they were still too dry. Then you chill them, then you cut them, then you smash them back together because they crumbled apart when you cut them. Then you bake them, then you dip them in chocolate that refuses to re-solidify at room temp because of the butter mixed with the chocolate. The result was a very small batch of extremely labor-intensive cookies that were not nearly minty enough (the mint volatilizes during baking and you lose most of the flavor) and is messy to eat. I will give this another shot BUT: I will add 1/2 c to 3/4 c milk/water to the dough and double the mint extract. I will scoop out the dough with a teaspoon measure and flatten them with floured hands rather than going though all the chilling/cutting/time. I will also add 1 t. mint to the melting chocolate and not add any butter. If the chocolate you are using is firm at room temp, then it will return to firm at room temp as long as you don't add too much to it. I don't think adding 1 t. of liquid mint will affect this. I will report back. If this doesn't work, my money will continue to go to the girl scouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
They really do taste and look like the Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies....and you get a lot more and they are MUCH cheaper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Good flavor but didn't have the right texture for a thin mint. It was more of a soft sugar cookie than a crisp wafer, and that was baking them for 13-14minutes to try to make them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Super Yummy. I used chocoalte wafers for the coating. When using orange or cherry extract instead of mint, add extra extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
These are awesome! I seem to have difficulty slicing them evenly, and they tend to crumble, but it may just be me! Crumbly or uneven I, (and everyone who has tried them), don't care. These are great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States