Thin Mint Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Raised so much money for my cause at my New Year's fundraiser!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I prefer using cocoa from the can too for this. Also use your own judgement for the extract 'less is more.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
It tasted...Interesting. It could have used less peppermint but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Yum! This is an easy-to-make recipe! I shared some with a relative of mine, and we both thought it was great! Although I didn't have any cocoa mix on hand, I decided use two Keurig cups which worked out great! I also happened to use the rest of my peppermint extract, since there was so little left in it anyways. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This recipe comes out perfect with 1/4 cup of dark cocoa powder in place of the hot cocoa mix and taking the peppermint extract down to 1/2 tsp. It really does taste like a thin mint cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is the best the whole family enjoyed it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I thought this tasted alright. I used the calculate button to change it to 1 serving to try it. I went to cook it in a pot, but it just wasn't enough ingredients for one drink to do so. I used the microwave instead and added the first 4 ingredients, in a large mug, and microwaved for 30 seconds. I then added the milk and flavorings and did an additional 1 minute. I did change it up some to lighten it up a bit. I used 1% milk and a packet of Truvia for the sugar. For the extract I added a drop of peppermint and 2 drops of vanilla extract. I have used extracts, enough, to know a little goes a long way. It can be added but not removed. I am not a big fan of making flavored cocoa from a packet. However, it did sort of taste like a thin mint cookie, although, even much more so with some Andes mints melting in the bottom of the cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I think this has way too much peppermint extract. I recommend 1/2 tsp and then tasting it to see if you want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was excellent and easy to make...very delicious...I only had the baking cocoa powder and not hot cocoa mix, so that's what I used and it was excellent...have already made it 2 nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was pretty good. The only problem was that it was way too sweet even after reducing the sugar by half. I used 2% milk instead of the whole milk and pure peppermint extract (if you use the pure extract, remember to reduce the amount, i forgot to and 1 tsp was way too minty). I agree with Sarah Jo, it would taste much better if baking cocoa was used instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States