Thin Mint Cocoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
It tasted...Interesting. It could have used less peppermint but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Yum! This is an easy-to-make recipe! I shared some with a relative of mine, and we both thought it was great! Although I didn't have any cocoa mix on hand, I decided use two Keurig cups which worked out great! I also happened to use the rest of my peppermint extract, since there was so little left in it anyways. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This recipe comes out perfect with 1/4 cup of dark cocoa powder in place of the hot cocoa mix and taking the peppermint extract down to 1/2 tsp. It really does taste like a thin mint cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is the best the whole family enjoyed it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I thought this tasted alright. I used the calculate button to change it to 1 serving to try it. I went to cook it in a pot, but it just wasn't enough ingredients for one drink to do so. I used the microwave instead and added the first 4 ingredients, in a large mug, and microwaved for 30 seconds. I then added the milk and flavorings and did an additional 1 minute. I did change it up some to lighten it up a bit. I used 1% milk and a packet of Truvia for the sugar. For the extract I added a drop of peppermint and 2 drops of vanilla extract. I have used extracts, enough, to know a little goes a long way. It can be added but not removed. I am not a big fan of making flavored cocoa from a packet. However, it did sort of taste like a thin mint cookie, although, even much more so with some Andes mints melting in the bottom of the cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I think this has way too much peppermint extract. I recommend 1/2 tsp and then tasting it to see if you want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was excellent and easy to make...very delicious...I only had the baking cocoa powder and not hot cocoa mix, so that's what I used and it was excellent...have already made it 2 nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was pretty good. The only problem was that it was way too sweet even after reducing the sugar by half. I used 2% milk instead of the whole milk and pure peppermint extract (if you use the pure extract, remember to reduce the amount, i forgot to and 1 tsp was way too minty). I agree with Sarah Jo, it would taste much better if baking cocoa was used instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This works a whole lot better if you use baking cocoa in place of the cocoa mix. You get more chocolate-y flavor with less sugar. I didn't have whole milk so I used a mix of fat free evaporated milk and fat free half-n-half. My kids and I thought this was great. Next time, I might add a little more peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States