Thimble Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
these are good. used hazelnuts and nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I actually kinda combined two of my favorite cookies with this. The Wedding cookie has nuts in the batter where this one has them rolled on the outside. I put the nuts in the dough & made them as usual & when cooled I rolled them in the powdered sugar and filled them with blackberry preserves. Best of both cookies in one :) My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We make both red - with the raspberry jam, and green - with mint jelly for Christmas....Really amazing family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made these cookies last night..brought them to work today and they were gone in a few hours....delicious!! will definately be making these again...thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Tasted alright but 90% of the cookies crumbled or broke in half. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious. The dough is not super sweet and the jam provides just the right amount of sweetness. The cookies are pretty, and unlike other jam topped cookies I have tried, the dough for these permits you to make good sized indentations. The cookie itself is like shortbread and is fairly delicate. It is not a hard or truly time consuming recipe either. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
easy to make, very pretty to look at. tastes pretty good and will look very nice in the Christmas cookie tins but would not be the very first cookie I grab when I open the tin and start eating. Nice cookie though, just not my personal favorite. I will be making again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These cookies are truly delicious, delicate, tender, and not too sweet. I make the indentation, fill with jam, and then bake for 15 minutes at 350. They really do look lovely on a holiday platter. One could drizzle a bit of a frosting or melted white chocolate after they are cooled but they really don't need it. Another fantastic combination for this same cookie recipe is to omit the lemon juice, use light brown sugar instead of white sugar, and roll in finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts. My favorite with this combo is still the raspberry jam but many other fillings would be wonderful as well. I had a dear friend, age 92, once tell me that this was the best cookie that she had ever eaten. A very heartwarming moment for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
oh my starrrssss (five of them, actually) -- these cookies are fabulous! i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Good cookies, no need to punch down center 2x though, just make it really deep the first time. I used a wine cork covered with foil and pushed up the sides around it to really mold a deep well so you don't have to take them out after 5 mins. Also putting jelly in a squeeze bottle or even a pastry decor bag makes quick work out of filling the centers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States