Thimble Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I've made this twice so far and have given as part of a cookie basket. I substituted unsweetened, flaked coconut for the walnuts. They are super quick, simple and really delicious! The lemon juice adds a really nice contrast with a bit of tartness. I never want to lose this recipe - it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
these are good. used hazelnuts and nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I actually kinda combined two of my favorite cookies with this. The Wedding cookie has nuts in the batter where this one has them rolled on the outside. I put the nuts in the dough & made them as usual & when cooled I rolled them in the powdered sugar and filled them with blackberry preserves. Best of both cookies in one :) My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We make both red - with the raspberry jam, and green - with mint jelly for Christmas....Really amazing family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made these cookies last night..brought them to work today and they were gone in a few hours....delicious!! will definately be making these again...thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Tasted alright but 90% of the cookies crumbled or broke in half. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious. The dough is not super sweet and the jam provides just the right amount of sweetness. The cookies are pretty, and unlike other jam topped cookies I have tried, the dough for these permits you to make good sized indentations. The cookie itself is like shortbread and is fairly delicate. It is not a hard or truly time consuming recipe either. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
easy to make, very pretty to look at. tastes pretty good and will look very nice in the Christmas cookie tins but would not be the very first cookie I grab when I open the tin and start eating. Nice cookie though, just not my personal favorite. I will be making again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These cookies are truly delicious, delicate, tender, and not too sweet. I make the indentation, fill with jam, and then bake for 15 minutes at 350. They really do look lovely on a holiday platter. One could drizzle a bit of a frosting or melted white chocolate after they are cooled but they really don't need it. Another fantastic combination for this same cookie recipe is to omit the lemon juice, use light brown sugar instead of white sugar, and roll in finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts. My favorite with this combo is still the raspberry jam but many other fillings would be wonderful as well. I had a dear friend, age 92, once tell me that this was the best cookie that she had ever eaten. A very heartwarming moment for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
oh my starrrssss (five of them, actually) -- these cookies are fabulous! i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States