Thimble Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These were fun to make. I had to come up with a sub for the walnuts (as I am allergic to tree nuts). I used finely chopped peanuts/flaked coconut/ and crushed Crispix cereal for the coating. I also put a chocolate chip in the center of each after five minutes of baking, but I think the lemon/raspberry flavor would be better (Gasp!!) without the chocolate. I DO like the coconut being in the crunchy coating, though. We'll do these again. Oh...I also like the relatively short list of ingredients and how these "present". Very pretty cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Every Christmas, we would have thumbprint cookies. Even though it isn't Christmas, I really wanted to make these! They are just so delicious! Since I couldn't find my mom's recipe, I decided to look for one on here, and I remembered that mom's had lemon juice in it, and so does this one! I decided to give it a try. I left out dipping them in the egg white and walnuts, which was fine. I filled them with apricot preserves, and they were great! When I was finished making these, they tasted just like my mom's recipe! A few minutes later I found her recipe... and this one is a whole lot easier, cheaper, and tasted the same! I will be saving this for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexInWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I'm not a huge fan of desserts or sweets...but I could eat this entire batch in one sitting. Just like my mother used to make - TY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLACIA2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These were just what I was looking for! We made these in Home-ec class in grade eight and ,oddly enough, I had lost the recipe. I used half very finely chopped walnut and half rice crispies for the coating--nice and crunchy outside. Also used some homemade blackberry jam a friend had made. Cooking times seemed accurate, and a wooden spoon with a rounded end stood in for a thimble. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Thanks Carol for this old time favourite. Made as written with one addition of lemon rind. Turned out awesome. I also put the jam in then baked , that way it isn't sticky when you store them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These cookies are great. Not a lot of effort to make them. I used strawberry jam and they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
The lemon juice in these makes them so good. And they aren't too sweet either. I made them the original way and I made them with cherry jam and almonds and those were good too :) Messy to make, but really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
i made these over the holidays. i'm not very skilled in making desserts, but if i can make these, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These are delicious! The lemon juice adds such a great flavor, they almost taste like they have cream cheese in them. The texture, the flavor--all superb. They are pretty forgiving, too, about what size ball you roll before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dueser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Really easy to make but they fell apart after first bite didnt like that.....taste was ok could have been better......might make again and make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisse05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States