Thimble Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Thanks Carol for this old time favourite. Made as written with one addition of lemon rind. Turned out awesome. I also put the jam in then baked , that way it isn't sticky when you store them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This recipe was so easy. I don't normaly like walnuts, but I ate 3 before they cooled! A simple tip was that I used a large deep thimble then I didn't have to press the centres twice. One press and then leave them in the oven for the full 15 minute cooking time. I also used grape jelly instead of the raseberry because it's a family favorite. They can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Crossfield, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
These were fun to make. I had to come up with a sub for the walnuts (as I am allergic to tree nuts). I used finely chopped peanuts/flaked coconut/ and crushed Crispix cereal for the coating. I also put a chocolate chip in the center of each after five minutes of baking, but I think the lemon/raspberry flavor would be better (Gasp!!) without the chocolate. I DO like the coconut being in the crunchy coating, though. We'll do these again. Oh...I also like the relatively short list of ingredients and how these "present". Very pretty cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Every Christmas, we would have thumbprint cookies. Even though it isn't Christmas, I really wanted to make these! They are just so delicious! Since I couldn't find my mom's recipe, I decided to look for one on here, and I remembered that mom's had lemon juice in it, and so does this one! I decided to give it a try. I left out dipping them in the egg white and walnuts, which was fine. I filled them with apricot preserves, and they were great! When I was finished making these, they tasted just like my mom's recipe! A few minutes later I found her recipe... and this one is a whole lot easier, cheaper, and tasted the same! I will be saving this for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexInWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
These are delicious! The lemon juice adds such a great flavor, they almost taste like they have cream cheese in them. The texture, the flavor--all superb. They are pretty forgiving, too, about what size ball you roll before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dueser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Really easy to make but they fell apart after first bite didnt like that.....taste was ok could have been better......might make again and make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisse05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Made these for a church crowd. They came out PERFECT! Didn't crumble or fall apart, yet had that 'melt in your mouth' texture. people raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustSing

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
AMAZING just tghe right amount of sweet. I used coconut instead of walnuts and they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Chester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Thank you so much for this recipe. Personally I love anything with strawberry jam on it, so that's what I used on these cookies and worked just great. Got better satisfaction when my husband shook his head in disbelief at how great they tasted! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very yummy! These turned out perfect. I used lime juice because I didn't have lemon, and coconut because I didn't have walnuts. Perfect combination! Just like mom used to make :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States