Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Boys in the house so I doubled everything (minus the bullion) added 2 cans of green beans, cream of mushroom soup, season salt, and garlic. Cooked for 40 min @ 350 covered, then added shredded cheese and baked uncovered for 10 min. LET REST for at least 10 min before serving. Not only is it too hot right away, but the rice mix sets and thighs hold juice better :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Mine didn't turn out great. But after reading some other reviews and suggestions I will try it again. I used brown short grain rice, it's what I had. I didn't add extra time but did leave it in the oven a while after the 45 minutes. I used boneless, skinless thighs, which were on the small side. The chicken was a little over done and the rice was crunchy. I guess I'll try boiling the rice a bit first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRITTLEY47
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Super easy, and tasty! I had no onions (very unlike me!), so I used lots of garlic, and sun-dried tomatoes. Also, I used a blend of quinoa, brown rice, and wild rice. I pre-cooked the rice blend covered in the oven for 12-15 minutes, while defrosting my boneless, skinless thighs, and then stirred the rice mixture, and added thighs on top, S&P, and resumed cooking, covered, for 35-40 minutes. By then, the chicken and the rice blend were cooked through. I removed from oven, added a splash of milk, and a sprinkle of Parmesan and mozzarella. Delish! Can't wait to try it again with my beloved onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Nice easy recipe, but it could use a little more oomph. I think next time I'll try a spice rub on the chicken, and maybe add a few cloves of minced garlic, diced tomatoes or something to the rice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I made this for dinner last night and we thought it was very good. I made a couple with the skin off for me and a couple with the skin on for him. I took Cassie's advice and cooked mine using her suggestions. I only added mushrooms though. I used 14oz of chicken broth and the rest white wine to make two cups. On the advice of another, I also stirred it after a while. I actually suck at making rice and this turned out beautifully! Thank you Carol and Cassie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
My family loved this recipe! I cooked onion and celery in the oil on the stovetop, and added a little garlic salt. Then mixed this in with 1 cup chicken broth and 1 cup water plus the other ingredients, and skinned the thighs. I also added petit carrots. Baked at 350 covered for 35 min, then uncovered it, stirred, added cheese, and baked uncovered for another 20-25 min until the rice was done. I have a 3-1/2 and 1-1/2 year old. We all loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Fam fave! I didn't use bouillon cubes, I used 2 cups chicken broth...less salt. And I added garlic, ground pepper, onion (chopped), turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schrader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I followed the directions but added chopped celery. Flavour was good but far too greasy. I would not put the butter in next time. I think the grease from the chicken will give enough grease in it. It also needed more time to cook than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
As another reviewer stated, this is a good base recipe and it can be made into many variations as desired. For a quick meal, I added frozen diced mixed vegetables, sautéed fresh mushrooms, dry white wine, can of cream of chicken to give it a creamy texture and my own chicken stock which I make ahead and keep in the freezer. Added parsley, thyme & basil. It made a hearty meal and was so easy to prepare. Family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Way too much butter! I would use a tablespoon rather than 1/4 cup. Otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States