Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Didnt have shredded cheese so we added a bit of parmesan Inc it was on the plate. MUST COVER!!! ! It would not enough up the same! Flavor chicken a little more than usual since the water will wash it away or season once in the pan. Added a bit of white wine too. Entire pan is gone! Kids absolutely loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xavieratx
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
We really loved the recipe. It was easy and a quick prep time. We added an Italian mix of veggies which really made the dish even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I tried this recipe and it's absolutely delicious and easy to make my family loved it l followed the recipe the only thing I did different was I added 2Tbsps of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This tasted really good but was greasy, and I will make additional changes next time I cook it. I did make some changes this first time as well. I browned the onions first in olive oil and then browned the chicken on both sides. I drained the grease (next time should make sure ALL grease is out of pan), and put the rice on bottom like recipe states. Then I added the chicken and put the onions on top. Next time I will also cut the butter (it's definitely not necessary). If it comes out greasy again I will make sure to omit the skin on the next go round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Very good chicken recipe. Did as another reviewer did and cooked it on the BBQ wrapped in foil, to hot to cook inside. I used chicken broth in place of the water(personal preference )and i used very low sodium soy sauce. I also took them out of the liquid and put them on the grill just to get grill marks. The chicken turns out nice and juicy.This is a keeper, thank you moaa for this wonderful recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I took the suggestions from other reviews and it turned out great! I switched it up a little, though...I added 1/2 cup of white wine, decreased butter, eliminated the bouillon all together, added minced fresh garlic, and used a parsley, sage, rosemary, & thyme rub on the chicken before placing in the pan! So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I've used this recipe several times now. I like it and my wife likes it also which is surprising because she normally will not eat rice. The first time I tried it, I had to increase the cooking time from 45 minutes to an hour to get the chicken cooked. I think it is because of our altitude of 5000 feet above sea level. For seasoning I add a chopped/minced up a clove of garlic to the mix and than sprinkle a teaspoon of pepper, a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of smoked perika on top with 6 sprigs of fresh rosemary right before I put it in the oven. I also skin the thighs like some others do. I melted the butter prior to mixing it in. The rice comes out very tasty and the chicken is moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This recipe was awesome. I just have one complaint: the recipe itself wasn't too clear. I felt like I was making things up as I went along (not necessarily a bad thing in and of itself, but when you're in a hurry, you don't have time to second guess yourself or try to figure things out on your own that should be well-recorded for you). For example: do you dissolve the bullion separately? If so, at what point do you add it back to the rice mixture? It's not clear. I think it would be helpful if this was corrected. Other than that, the recipe was great! The meat was tender and juicy, and the butter & bullion with the rice was amazing! Can't wait to eat leftovers tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
5 stars with these changes... Here are some Cooking 101 tips. Heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a dutch oven over medium high heat. Season chicken (thighs OR drumsticks) with S&P and brown for 4-5 minutes per side. Remove from pot. Saute the onion (and celery, carrots, mushrooms) for 2-3 minutes in the same pot. Then add rice, broth, melted butter, and Italian seasoning (only 1/2 tsp.) and stir together. Put browned chicken on top of rice and cover with a tight fitting lid. Bake for 35-45 minutes. Cooks perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I was hard on time and my daughter was having a sleepover so it was quick and easy. I did use chicken breast one time when I didn't have any chicken thighs on hand. For me I made it Spicer. I added one teaspoon of cayenne pepper and curry powder. I also added some garlic like two cloves. Sometimes I add cream of mushroom soup and sometimes I use beef bouillon instead of the chicken one. I also use canned or fresh veggies when they need some veggies. All in all an great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States