Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This is a great one dish meal. I love the orginla recipe, but I've tried some variations, too. I doubled the rice to 2 cups and used long grain/wild rice. I used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes instead of doubling the water and decreased the water to 1 1/2 cups. Works just as well with chicken breast, too! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
flavorful rice! The chicken definitely needed to cook longer than suggested by about 15-25 minutes longer. It is an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I'm not a big chicken thigh person, but we had some that needed to be cooked and this recipe seemed very simple. I didn't have boullion, so I used chicken broth instead of water to flavor the rice. I seasoned the chicken with poultry seasoning, salt, pepper, and Nature's Seasoning. It came out very tasty and the chicken was very moist. A very simple meal that was very easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Wow, we loved this! I normally make a recipe as suggested but this time I skipped the boulion and just added about a tbs of soysauce to the water instead Substituted Traderr Joes 21 spice blend instead of the italian. Used full amt of white sticky rice with 4 large thighs in smaller glass dish and baked at 375 for 40 min. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
OK - but definetly took 1 hour. I would use rice pilaf next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Wonderful! I followed another reviewers suggestion and cooked with parboiled brown rice. Sprinkled lots of lemon pepper and parsley on top before putting in the oven. Hubby was the first to try it and raved over how good it tasted. When I finally got around to eating dinner, I was very pleased with how it turned out. Even my niece and her new boyfriend, who were visiting, complimented me on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Made this for dinner last night, but I reduced the recipe to only 1 chicken thigh and 3/4 cup of uncooked rice. That alone took about 35 minutes to cook, so I would imagine that 6 thighs would take much longer. The chicken came out perfectly! It was so delicious and moist. The first layer of rice was hard at the top, but after I stirred it around with the moist rice from the bottom it didn't bother me. Also, didn't use the butter (for health reasons) and cut down the amount of boullion. Also, I used red onions and the colour looked great mixed in with white rice. I would make this again using the same technique and different kinds of marinades and veggies in the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amager, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Made this last night. It was very quick and easy. I took some of the other reviewer's suggestions and used bonelsess skinless chicken breasts and brown rice. I also: (1) seasoned chicken thighs with garlic powder and Grill Creations KC Style Chicken seasoning, (2) added rice to pot with 2.5 cups water and 1 tsp chicken flavored soup base until base disolved then poured mixture into pan,(3)used finely chopped sweet onions and placed on top of chicken, (4) cooked covered 50-60 minutes. It came out delicious!!! I will difinately make again.**** CORRECTION: I USED BONELESS SKINLESS CHICEKEN THIGHS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I think 2 bouillon cubes was too much, and as others said, it took much longer than 45 minutes. The water didn't even boil by 35, but the chicken looked ready. I left it it maybe a total of 50 to 60 minutes, and some of the rice was still hard, fortunately, the chicken remained moist. The only stray I made was to add one minced garlic clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This recipe was a little bland and I followed it precisely. No one at my dinner table complained however and it was definitely edible. I gave it 3 stars because if I do make it again I will definitely need to alter it- the consistency of the rice was not right, it lacked flavor, the chicken itself was bland. Might be a good starting place though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States