Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is a yummy recipe!! Used 1 can of chicken broth and 1/4 cup water. No chicken bouillon. I took the the skin off the thighs. I sauteed onion and mushroom in part of the butter and mixed the rest of the butter melted into the rice. My only difficulty was the rice took about 90 mins. to cook. I took the chicken out after about 50 mins., covered the dish and let the rice cook more. It turned out delicious, but I think next time I will cook the rice before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Added a bit more seasoning to give it a little kick some Ground Sage on the chicken and a little cayenne for Spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Cooked according to the recipe......almost. Used chicken granules instead of bouillon cubes and was happy with the results. This week I'm taking a bigger batch to a relative's home but will add mushrooms and carrots. This is a great "make ahead dish" and I never have enough of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I cut the recipe down for 1. Though, after the chicken and rice were finished cooking I did mix the rice in with some plain rice because it was rather greasy and needed to be mellowed some. Perhaps i ought to have used defrosted chicken and not used the rock hard ice chicken because then I could have taken off the skin and fat. But I think as a recipe goes, this was fine. Worth 5 stars because if you use chicken without all that fat on it, it'll be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I searched for a recipe to using the ingredients box because I really needed to go to the grocery store and I found this. I was totally satisfied with how this turned out! I never had a baked dish that I didn't have to precook the rice so I was skeptical about the fluffiness of the rice but it was delicious. Even the kids loved it and they hate baked chicken. I know it was better than good because my mother'n'law enjoyed it and she doesn't eat rice. This will definitely be a keeper in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is one of the easiest simpliest recipes. I thought it would be plain but i made some modifications that made it so full of flavor that my husband wanted me to make it two nights in a row. I added a bag of frozen mixed veggies with the rice and also 1/2 a turkey kelbasa sausage. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Good receipe. Made some changes though... I took other folks advice and added garlic, onion, bell pepper and spices of my choice (red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper & bay leaf). I also used brown rice and added a can of cream of chicken (try mushroom maybe next time) to the fluid mixture for rice. Also browned the chicken before placing in the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juju

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is going to be a regular menu item for my family. I used 1 cube chicken and 1 cube of chipolte bouilon to give the rice a little spicey flavor. I used Basmati Rice as that is all I had. As always, I added garlic salt to rice and on top of chicken. After 30 minutes I stirred the rice and did so every 15 minutes until the chicken was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe could lend itself to any change I believe, so change I did. Need to get those down before I forget, lol. I diced a small onion, and 3 stalks of celery, sauteed in 3 TB of butter, then added 2-3 inch cuts of fresh asparagus, let it sautee a bit, then deglazed pan with 2 cups of "Kitchen Basics" chicken stock. Added 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning, salt and pepper. Stirred in 1 cup of long grain white rice, and poured all into a greased 13x9 in. pan. I topped the rice/veggie mixture with 6 bone-in chicken thighs and sprinkled those with some Paprika (I just felt with the lovely greens a touch of red would be nice visually, if I hadn't been lazy I think some diced pimento or better still roasted red peppers would be lovely.) Well I was very disappointed so changed from an anticipatory rating of 4 down to a 2 star. If I hadn't added the asparagus this would have had no taste whatsoever. Definitely a workable idea. I would add 3 cloves of minced garlic, thinking about diced tomato...or the roasted red peppers I had thought about, possibly some red pepper flakes, just a few to zip this up a bit. I used Kitchen Basics Stock which is very good, very flavorful...even with that this was so bland it was just sad. As I say, don't discount the concept...but trust me, doctor this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is truly easy as it says and I used mixed pieces! The rice is amazing and the chicken is moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States