Thighs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Good receipe. Made some changes though... I took other folks advice and added garlic, onion, bell pepper and spices of my choice (red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper & bay leaf). I also used brown rice and added a can of cream of chicken (try mushroom maybe next time) to the fluid mixture for rice. Also browned the chicken before placing in the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juju

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is going to be a regular menu item for my family. I used 1 cube chicken and 1 cube of chipolte bouilon to give the rice a little spicey flavor. I used Basmati Rice as that is all I had. As always, I added garlic salt to rice and on top of chicken. After 30 minutes I stirred the rice and did so every 15 minutes until the chicken was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe could lend itself to any change I believe, so change I did. Need to get those down before I forget, lol. I diced a small onion, and 3 stalks of celery, sauteed in 3 TB of butter, then added 2-3 inch cuts of fresh asparagus, let it sautee a bit, then deglazed pan with 2 cups of "Kitchen Basics" chicken stock. Added 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning, salt and pepper. Stirred in 1 cup of long grain white rice, and poured all into a greased 13x9 in. pan. I topped the rice/veggie mixture with 6 bone-in chicken thighs and sprinkled those with some Paprika (I just felt with the lovely greens a touch of red would be nice visually, if I hadn't been lazy I think some diced pimento or better still roasted red peppers would be lovely.) Well I was very disappointed so changed from an anticipatory rating of 4 down to a 2 star. If I hadn't added the asparagus this would have had no taste whatsoever. Definitely a workable idea. I would add 3 cloves of minced garlic, thinking about diced tomato...or the roasted red peppers I had thought about, possibly some red pepper flakes, just a few to zip this up a bit. I used Kitchen Basics Stock which is very good, very flavorful...even with that this was so bland it was just sad. As I say, don't discount the concept...but trust me, doctor this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is truly easy as it says and I used mixed pieces! The rice is amazing and the chicken is moist and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Yummy! I didn't change a thing, and my husband loved this! My recommendation is to make it "as is" for your first time around so you have an idea of how it tastes before you experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Yummy. Grated parmesan puts this dish over the edge!! Sprinkle it on liberally right before serving. Almost tastes like risotto. Make sure you cook it long enough so the rice isn't crunchy. For me it took about 50 minutes. I also used olive oil and garlic instead of butter and onion. I'm actually eating it right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I wasn't sure about trying this, the reviews are all so mixed it made me nervous. However, I'm always on the look out for dairy free recipes since dairy makes my husband sick. I made a few changes based on the reviews I read. I started by seasoning the chicken with some Lawry's seasoned salt and then browning them in a skillet with a bit of margarine, setting them aside when golden brown. Before making the rice mix I sautéed the onions in the same skillet and added 6 cloves minced garlic and about 1 ½ cups of chopped fresh portobello mushrooms. I added 1 TBS of original flavor Mrs. Dash to the rice mix and sprinkled some dried parsley over the chicken after it was all put together. I cooked it uncovered and after 45 minutes the chicken was cooked perfectly. The rice cooked, but didn't seem to cook evenly. It was a bit overcooked and mushy in places. That might've been because I doubled the recipe and used a bigger baking dish. Anyway, it got mixed reviews from my family when I served it last night. One of my kids loved the chicken but hated the rice, my husband thought it was all just okay, my 3 other kids liked it but didn't love it, and I didn't care for the chicken but I really liked the flavor of the rice. I think I will try this again, maybe tweak it a bit more. I think I will add more Mrs. Dash, 2 or even 3 TBS instead of just one, and maybe some other spices. I thought the rice was good but would be even better with more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a good starter recipe. I used 2 cups of heated fat free/low sodium chicken broth for the water and bullion. To that I added 1 tablespoon dried onion, 3/4 teaspoon sage, 1 tablespoon celery flakes. I also lightly floured, salted and heavily peppered the chicken and browned in canola oil first. Baked for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I wanted to like it as thighs are economical...but the rice was a little tasteless. I prob won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
It was OK, nothing to rave about, but was easy and used things I had on hand without having to run to the store. I should've sauteed the onions first before mixing with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellenhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States