Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Great recipe. So easy, I can't understand why some have had difficulty. I used a tall jar, immersion blender, and all the ingredients as stated. I blended the garlic and salt first, then added the oil and lemon juice. I got a great texture within moments. You have to use really fresh garlic. if the garlic has green sprouts in the cloves, the garlic taste will be unpleasantly strong(bitter). Makes a lot of sauce, but at least my family will not be complaining that we don't have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I used exact ingredients and it turned out great. As for not using a blender, I used mine and it emulsified beautifully. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Did it the first time with ingredients mentioned and it was a soup even when adding ice water and egg white. red all reviews and tried again. Nabil got it right and it came out perfect. Here's what I did: In a tall jar with a hand blender mix the following ingredients: 1 head of garlic, 1/2 tbsp corse sea salt, 1tsp white vinegar, 1 egg white and juice of 1/2 lemon (not half cup). Once mixed, about 30sec, very very very slowly add 1 cup of veg oil (not olive). It should take you 2-3 min to add the oil as you're doing it slowly and the result will be a very thick and fluffy garlic sauce. Yes it's potent but what do you expect. Enjoy folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobeos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This reminds me of the garlic sauce from Dearborn. It is strong and rich, I did make it using 2 whole heads of garlic but I wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
My only complaint is that there was too much lemon. The consistency was just like I find in a Flint Michigan area restaurant, similar to mayonnaise, and I think with much less lemon, the flavor would match, as well. Thank you SO much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
the garlicy taste is too intense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I will make a slight amendment that will make this sauce a bit thick: 1 head garlic, minced 1/2 a lemon juice (not 1/2 cup) 1 cup of oil (I use vegetable not olive) 1 teaspoon white vinegar 1 teaspoon mustard 1 egg white Procedure: (you can use a regular blender or immersion blender, I prefer the immersion blender) mince the garlic and place in the mixer bowl along with all ingredients except the oil mix the above for 20 to 30 seconds here is the trick: start by adding the oil very very very slowly while continuing to mix, the oil should be added in a very thin line (not the whole amount) continue mixing and adding oil VERY slowly until the sauce becomes thick. usually it takes few minutes. This is the best garlic sauce, and its used in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Najib

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Really tasty to eat with chicken kabob. I needed to add the egg white to thick the sauce, even with the immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyum
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Okay, so I was excited for this "fool proof" recipe but then initially had trouble with getting it to thicken up. I think the secret is the temperature, not the egg white addition. I was blending it with my immersion blender and noticed that the liquid and my blender was getting warm/hot. I blended it for quite some time and it was still liquid. So I stopped, let it rest, read some reviews about letting it blend for longer, went back to it, and put my cooled-down immersion blender in and: voila! It was INSTANTLY thick. I read someone else talk about adding 1T of ice water which made it instantly thick. The flavor is AWESOME! I added less salt based on the reviews but everything else I followed to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Kate*Pan*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
WOW! This was SO good! I made this with my own hummus recipe and the Syrian Bread recipe on this site. Everything tasted just like a Middle-Eastern restaurant. The garlic sauce did turn out just a little too liquidy, but I think I added too much olive oil. (I will start with less next time and gradually add more.) Mine was still delicious, though! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States