Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This worked well, except I used 2 cups canola oil instead of the other oils. I think that helped with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Peeling and pressing all that garlic is a bit tedious but it IS the star ingredient after all. I found it way too salty so next time it'll be less salt and less oil for me. I marinated lamb chops in this all day long and then I baked them slowly for an hour, drained off the juices then baked them a further 15 mins on high and they were truly awesome. My husband ate a heck of a lot of lamb that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great recipe, Sam's club sells whole clove garlic already peeled in a big jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is a simple and tasty recipe. The quality of the olive oil can really make a difference - buy the slightly more expensive bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
MMmm!! I love this stuff. I usually add a tablespoon of Mayonnaise that's the way I learned. For the reviewer that complained, -make sure your olive oil is a good quality, more $$ - and not stale- or else the taste will not be pleasant. Keep your oil in the coolest place, not a warm one. This is really yummy with roasted chicken- dip the pieces in and enjoy. Be careful or you will over-eat! Oh, and make sure the person who will be enjoying your close company later has had a good helping of it as well- or you will repel them. And stay home for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Awesome recipe don't change a thing. You MUST use an immersion blender otherwise it will separate. Food processors and blenders don't work. I purchased a bamix just for this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I have been making Lebanese Garlic Sauce for a few years, and this is the best recipe I have found. It tastes just like the sauce at our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant. I did make a few changes. Here is the recipe with my alterations: * 1 head garlic * 1/2 tablespoon sea salt (make sure it is course-ground or this will still be too much salt) * 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice * 1/2 cup vegetable oil * 3/4 cup olive oil (not extra virgin - mild-tasting, preferably cold-pressed) So, less salt and less oil. Also, I believe the immersion blender is key here to emulsify the oil to the proper consistency. Loved it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This recipe is a winner. Over the years I have tried to make this with different implements, without success. Using the hand blender is ingenious. The consistency is perfect. Thank you so much!!! No more boring bbq's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimat401
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! The immersion blending and the egg white are truly the key. If you're used to a thick style sauce like they serve in the Detroit area then throw in the egg white. I followed the recipe as written at first and it was very thin, so I added the egg white as suggested in other reviews and it thickened to a mayo consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States