Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
the ingredients are great and acurate but as a lebanese i would suggest blending the garlic with the salt first and then slowly adding the oil and the lemon in alternation as you blend. go slow and even though it's a little more complicated, if you do it right you'll end up with a really thick mixture almost like a sour cream dip! the process is a little tricky so even if it doesn't work the first time try again and make sure to keep an eye on the mixture as you blend so it wont fall appart. oh, and you might not need to use all of the oil and lemon, as soon as the mixture turns into a fluffy white substance and you think you have enought, taste it and if satisfied with the balance of flavors, you're done! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I have been making Lebanese Garlic Sauce for a few years, and this is the best recipe I have found. It tastes just like the sauce at our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant. I did make a few changes. Here is the recipe with my alterations: * 1 head garlic * 1/2 tablespoon sea salt (make sure it is course-ground or this will still be too much salt) * 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice * 1/2 cup vegetable oil * 3/4 cup olive oil (not extra virgin - mild-tasting, preferably cold-pressed) So, less salt and less oil. Also, I believe the immersion blender is key here to emulsify the oil to the proper consistency. Loved it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Awesome recipe don't change a thing. You MUST use an immersion blender otherwise it will separate. Food processors and blenders don't work. I purchased a bamix just for this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimat401
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! The immersion blending and the egg white are truly the key. If you're used to a thick style sauce like they serve in the Detroit area then throw in the egg white. I followed the recipe as written at first and it was very thin, so I added the egg white as suggested in other reviews and it thickened to a mayo consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
MMmm!! I love this stuff. I usually add a tablespoon of Mayonnaise that's the way I learned. For the reviewer that complained, -make sure your olive oil is a good quality, more $$ - and not stale- or else the taste will not be pleasant. Keep your oil in the coolest place, not a warm one. This is really yummy with roasted chicken- dip the pieces in and enjoy. Be careful or you will over-eat! Oh, and make sure the person who will be enjoying your close company later has had a good helping of it as well- or you will repel them. And stay home for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somecookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I'm not sure how to rate this. I love garlic sauce and I only used the given ingredients but my amounts were completely different. I used twice as much garlic and only olive oil to make the consistency similar to what I grew up with. I loved what I made but it wasn't the recipe here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was excellent! I did make a few minor changes based on some previous reviews - I only used about half the olive oil, and I doubled the garlic as we were looking for something really high-powered! Thank you to the reviewer who suggested the addition of an egg white to thicken it if you're looking for something similar to what you find in the Detroit area. I'm a Detroit-area native living out of state, and my husband and I have been trying to duplicate LaShish's garlic sauce for years! This comes very close. It also goes VERY WELL with Shish Tawook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I'm not sure exactly how to review this. I used slightly less salt than called for, the juice of two lemons (slightly less than 1/2 a cup), and like another reviewer, I also added about a tablespoon of mayo. Most importantly, I halved the oil called for, using only 1/2 a cup of each. I blended for a total time of 5-10 minutes and, even with half the oil, this never got anywhere near the consistency of mayonnaise, which is what I am used to. The flavor is good, but I have no idea how to get the thicker consistency promised and desired, even with adding extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This worked well, except I used 2 cups canola oil instead of the other oils. I think that helped with the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I too ended up with a bowl of liquid. I tried egg whites, mayo...helped a little. The key to sauce being thick and creamy are two things (MUST USE) 1) IMMERSION BLENDER 2) "QUART SIZED JAR OR CUP". A bowl won't work!...at least for me it didn't. When I used the immersion blender WITH a quart sized cup, it came out perfect. Be sure to put the blender on the bottom of the cup or jar and let the suction work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States