Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This garlic sauce is amazing -- so flavorful and rich, but yet extremely easy to make. It rivals the garlic sauce of some of the popular Lebanese restaurants to which I've been. It has a nice tangy flavor from the fresh lemons but if you don't like things too sour, cut back on the lemon juice a bit. I think I will reduce the salt just a tad next time I make it just out of personal preference. Overall, this sauce is fabulous. You won't regret making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I had some Lebanese pita bread, which I really like. I found this recipe remembering I had eaten it once with roast chicken, potatoes, salad, and pita bread from a restaurant. I did about 1/4 of the recipe and used only olive oil. This recipe is very close to the garlic dip I remember with that meal. Although, I couldn't quite get mine as thick as I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Love garlic sauce from my favorite Lebanese joint. Didn't know I could make it! It's about 90% like what I get in the restaurant. I don't have a immersion blender, but, I have a magic blullet---so I slowly added the oils and it did thicken somewhat but, not enough--so I added one egg white (as suggested) and that did the trick. A nice and thick sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I rated this recipe a 5 star...tastes just like our best Lebonese restaurant here...I had a good recipe, but this one is the easiest and most authentic by far...the original recipe is good, but I used Loolamay14's alterations and also added 1 egg white which made it nice and thick and delicious..thanks so much for sharing this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimat401
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! The immersion blending and the egg white are truly the key. If you're used to a thick style sauce like they serve in the Detroit area then throw in the egg white. I followed the recipe as written at first and it was very thin, so I added the egg white as suggested in other reviews and it thickened to a mayo consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very tasty but I couldn't get it to thicken up like the garlic sauce I'm used to. I read all the previous reviews and still was not successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is absolutely amazing! As good as the garlic sauce in my favorite Lebanese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Thanks for the ingredient measurements. I make this often but have always just "winged it" with the amounts. Have not had a problem with it thickening since I switched from a regular blender to the immersion type, but before I did ,I found a VERY small amount of powdered egg white (its pasturized for anyone concerned) thickened it in an instant. Addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soulja
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a great recipe. My local Lebanese restaurant hiked the price of their sauce by 100%, so I looked for a good recipe to make it myself. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and it came out rather powerful and salty. The consistency was nice and creamy, but the next day is started back separating. The seconde time I made it I put half the amount of salt and a drop of egg white and that made it super thick like mayo. PLEASE USE A HAND BLENDER IF YOU WANT IT TO EMULSIFY CORRECTLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States