Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I'd say that this is about as good as any restaurant garlic sauce. As a matter of fact, I've just recently started making my own again after our local favorite restaurant closed down (they made the best garlic sauce and bread!) I like that I can control the ingredients: so I used mostly olive oil and then added canola oil-probably 1/2 cup. I used the immersion blender to chop the garlic and then added the rest of the ingredients. I like the idea of using pasteurized egg whites to thicken, if necessary-but I didn't need to. You just need to add enough oil and add it slowly. I wonder if lighlty roasting the garlic first would get rid of that strong garlic "bite"? Then, I think my kids would love it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This garlic sauce is amazing -- so flavorful and rich, but yet extremely easy to make. It rivals the garlic sauce of some of the popular Lebanese restaurants to which I've been. It has a nice tangy flavor from the fresh lemons but if you don't like things too sour, cut back on the lemon juice a bit. I think I will reduce the salt just a tad next time I make it just out of personal preference. Overall, this sauce is fabulous. You won't regret making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I had some Lebanese pita bread, which I really like. I found this recipe remembering I had eaten it once with roast chicken, potatoes, salad, and pita bread from a restaurant. I did about 1/4 of the recipe and used only olive oil. This recipe is very close to the garlic dip I remember with that meal. Although, I couldn't quite get mine as thick as I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Love garlic sauce from my favorite Lebanese joint. Didn't know I could make it! It's about 90% like what I get in the restaurant. I don't have a immersion blender, but, I have a magic blullet---so I slowly added the oils and it did thicken somewhat but, not enough--so I added one egg white (as suggested) and that did the trick. A nice and thick sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I rated this recipe a 5 star...tastes just like our best Lebonese restaurant here...I had a good recipe, but this one is the easiest and most authentic by far...the original recipe is good, but I used Loolamay14's alterations and also added 1 egg white which made it nice and thick and delicious..thanks so much for sharing this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Throgmartin
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! The immersion blending and the egg white are truly the key. If you're used to a thick style sauce like they serve in the Detroit area then throw in the egg white. I followed the recipe as written at first and it was very thin, so I added the egg white as suggested in other reviews and it thickened to a mayo consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Throgmartin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Very tasty but I couldn't get it to thicken up like the garlic sauce I'm used to. I read all the previous reviews and still was not successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is absolutely amazing! As good as the garlic sauce in my favorite Lebanese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Thanks for the ingredient measurements. I make this often but have always just "winged it" with the amounts. Have not had a problem with it thickening since I switched from a regular blender to the immersion type, but before I did ,I found a VERY small amount of powdered egg white (its pasturized for anyone concerned) thickened it in an instant. Addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States