Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Worked perfectly, I used extra virgin olive oil, but I halved it and made up the difference with the canola oil :) Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Perfect and well written. I halved the sauce because I needed it for a salad dressing serving 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I use both kinds of oil but more olive than canola. However, to make it really thick it needs to have less oil than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was excellent! I did make a few minor changes based on some previous reviews - I only used about half the olive oil, and I doubled the garlic as we were looking for something really high-powered! Thank you to the reviewer who suggested the addition of an egg white to thicken it if you're looking for something similar to what you find in the Detroit area. I'm a Detroit-area native living out of state, and my husband and I have been trying to duplicate LaShish's garlic sauce for years! This comes very close. It also goes VERY WELL with Shish Tawook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
the ingredients are great and acurate but as a lebanese i would suggest blending the garlic with the salt first and then slowly adding the oil and the lemon in alternation as you blend. go slow and even though it's a little more complicated, if you do it right you'll end up with a really thick mixture almost like a sour cream dip! the process is a little tricky so even if it doesn't work the first time try again and make sure to keep an eye on the mixture as you blend so it wont fall appart. oh, and you might not need to use all of the oil and lemon, as soon as the mixture turns into a fluffy white substance and you think you have enought, taste it and if satisfied with the balance of flavors, you're done! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I love this stuff! I halved the oil and added about 1/2 cup drained canned chickpeas. Immersion blender is definitely the only way to go - unsuccessfully tried the food processor and regular blender first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Just finished making this to have with dinner tonight, and am hoping the garlic flavor mellows out a bit as it chills, it's got a pretty strong bite to it. I slowly added the oils and lemon juice, alternating them, and used an immersion blender. It was fairly thick, but not quite the mayo texture I'm used to, so instead of egg white I added about a teaspoon of merengue powder and it thickened up beautifully. Might try this in the food processor next time, my immersion blender was heating up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Love the flavor but the amount of oil in this is a heart attack waiting to happen. Do use less olive oil and more vegetable oil since the olive oil flavor can overwhelm the sauce. I added 1 egg but even with this, did not get the mayonnaise consistency I was looking for. This makes a ton. I wanted to make less but you have to keep adding oil to get it thicker so in the end, you will get a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This tasted good but I utterly failed at using this recipe in a normal blender. It did work though when I used a food processor and slowly added the oil and lemon juice (alternating the oil and lemon juice bit by bit). thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This sauce is great! I did use a blender and a garlic press so the sause would be smooth. I also added 1 egg white. It has held up for over a week and is staying together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States