Thick-Style Lebanese Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I too ended up with a bowl of liquid. I tried egg whites, mayo...helped a little. The key to sauce being thick and creamy are two things (MUST USE) 1) IMMERSION BLENDER 2) "QUART SIZED JAR OR CUP". A bowl won't work!...at least for me it didn't. When I used the immersion blender WITH a quart sized cup, it came out perfect. Be sure to put the blender on the bottom of the cup or jar and let the suction work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe (easy enough) read a lot of reviews to make sure I put all chances on my side... but yet... here I am standing with a bowl of extremely liquid garlic scented oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used a heaping teaspoon instead of a tablespoon, and it still came out really salty! I also just threw everything (garlic not even minced) in my immersion blender cup and went to town. I set my blender to 5 (out of 10) and the longer I blended, the thicker it got. It was totally thick enough for me, and I'm used to the stuff from Dearborn/Detroit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Didn't get thick like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
FINALLY! A recipe for "garlic sauce" or "toum" that actually worked for me! I used only canola oil (no olive oil), kosher salt, 8 cloves minced garlic, and the juice of one lemon. I started by blending (with my immersion blender) the garlic, kosher salt and about 1/4 cup of the oil, just so I knew all the 'chucks' were broken up. After that I added the lemon juice and the rest of the olive oil. I blended with my immersion blender for almost 5 minutes and it was still soupy so I started experimenting. I added one egg white (helped a little) then I added 1T of ice water.. (HELPED A A LOT) the change was almost instantly thick white 'mayo'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love this recipe. I used canola oil, and it whipped up thick and white within seconds. The immersion blender is key. Fresh squeezed lemon juice- nice tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Perfect recipe! I took the suggestions of other reviewers, and added the lemon and oil alternatively, a bit at a time. This way I was able to get it exactly the way i like it. i think in the end I used less olive oil, and a tiny bit less vegetable oil than the recipe called for, but I think this is based on personal preference. Perfect recipe, this is exactly what I was looking for. Note: I also used about half the salt (I had to use plain table salt because it's all I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Delicious and so very easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good. I made a smaller batch and I guess I used a little too much lemon juice, but otherwise it was terrific. I can't wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Taste was very good. But I had trouble. First time: followed ingredient proportions except only used 4 cloves of garlic. I blended for almost 20 minutes but sauce didn't thicken. I added an egg white and it became very thick instantaneously. Second time: exactly as first time but added 1/4C olive oil & 1/4C veg oil. Did not thicken. Added another egg white. Did not thicken. Added a third egg white. Still didn't thicken. It's sitting in the fridge right now. Not enough garlic? Suggestions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States