Thick Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made some changes. I used non hydrogenated margarine instead of shortening and butter. I used unbleached flour instead of bread flour. I also used some dark chocolate chunks, and some broken dark Belgium chocolate wafers and I used dark German cocoa powder. The cookies turned out good. I would definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These were great! The peppermint flavour is not overpowering, these taste somewhat like the Arnotts mint slice we get here in NZ. Delish! I used a full cup of butter instead of half butter half shortening. Will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bub6958
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very good recipe! Chewy on the inside yet a little chispy on the outside. I used the mint/semi sweet chips from Nestle and it worked out well. Adding this one to my Christmas cookie list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These came out great. I did use regular unbleached flour instead of the bread flour and Smart balance for the shortening. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
For me, these cookies came out dry and they didn't spread much at all. I don't like when cookies, especially chocolate cookies don't spread. I think next time I try to make this type of cookie, I'll go with a regular chocolate chip recipe and do my own modifications. *second set came out better. I flattened the cookies before baking and didn't wait for the edges to get crisp. 1st set may have been overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Used dark chocolate chips/mint chips instead of the extract. These were delicious when warm and when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These quite honestly are my new favorite cookie! The mint and chocolate are phenomenal! I highly suggest using white chocolate chips instead of dark. Very simple to make and great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
LOVED THESE! I used unbleached flour, all butter, left out the 2nd egg yolk and extract, used Nestle mint chips (I had bought these and was looking for a recipe to use in) -- next time I plan to make part with walnuts and chocolate chips -- best cookie dough ever!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QwkRedFox
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Awesome cookie dough! I added some walnuts and used mint chocolate chips. I love walnuts and so do my family. I got 63 cookies out of this exact recipe. They spread nicely when they bake, though I found I was better off smooshing the balls slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These cookies are delicious! I bake at high altitude so its not often that I can find a good cookie recipe that isn't dry or hard. I have been doing some experimenting lately and made a few small changes. I didn't want to alter the recipe too much so I tried to stick with it for the most part. I upped the temperature to 390, added 2 tbs more flour (kept with the bread flour) , about 1/8 tsp less of baking soda and added about 1/4 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States