Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Excellent cookies with perfect icing. Nice, soft, moist...good! I had to incorporate a little more flour to the dough when it came time to roll it out, it started out way too sticky to work with, but that's the only thing that I changed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This cookie was good BUT... they are alot of work be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I have been looking a long time for the perfect "bakery" sugar cookie recipe. This is it. All others will be thrown away. I did double vanilla, and added about 1/4 tsp. lemon extract. Otherwise, just a PERFECT sugar cookie. Thank for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Doubled vanilla and added almond for more flavor. Cookies turn out beautifully - will never use another cut out recipe. I've made these 3 times now and get rave reviews b/c they are so pretty. I didn't use the glaze from this recipe. I use "Sugar Cookie Icing" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I just love this cookie recipe and so did my family! This is the 1st time making them and they are great! This will be the only cut-out cookie that I will be making! I didn't change a thing with the recipe. My husband said that they are very addicting! I made them last weekend for a friend of the family who races cars. They were perfect for cutting out in the shape of his race car and decorating exactly like his car. The dough is very easy to work with and they actually looked and tasted professional. Too bad I forgot to take a picture of them! I am going to make them today for a picnic in the shape of flowers! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahanoy City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made these for my Dad for Father's Day. I am extremely impressed by them. The dough was super easy to mix up. I did add some almond and butter flavoring just because others did and I had it on hand. I refrigerated the dough overnight and just took out what I was rolling at the time and let the rest in to stay cool. I did have to use quite a bit of extra flour in order to get them to roll well. The dough was pretty sticky but nothing common sense couldn't fix. Extra flour did the trick. The stability of the cookie after it was baked was impressive. Nice and soft and thick but held the frosting so beautifully. PERFECT COOKIES! I made my own icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Five stars because I think it's really difficult to find a great cut-out cookie recipe! Like others I also added some extracts: 2tsp almond and 1/2 tsp butter - though 1 tsp butter probably would have been ok too. This has given these cookies the PERFECT flavor. That said - I haven't even cooked them yet! So far they are just dough - but the dough is amazing haha! I wanted a recipe because I wanted to make my father-in-law a nice batch of cookies for Father's Day like they have at those expensive designer cookie shops at *gasp* $8 per cookie! That's insane to me. These are going to taste even better! I'll post an update and a photo after they are finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Right now, this is the only cookie recipe I use. However, I do change it a bit, so I only gave it four stars. I add 1 Tbsp. of vanilla, 1 tsp butter extract, and I use butter flavored crisco in place of half of the butter to prevent spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie Ann Yost May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Used these for a birthday party with just a basic Royal icing. Without the icing, they were just ok, but having said that, they were just right with it. Perfect really. And rolled out and baked up perfectly. I topped them with those printed cupcake toppers I purchased, and they had each child's name on them, perfect treat/place setting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I was in the market for a big, soft sugar cookie and this recipe didn't disappoint. The only change I made was to add 2 teaspoons of vanilla and one teaspoon of almond extract (per other reviewers' suggestions). These cookies represent a big investment in time, effort, and ingredients, but I think they're worth it! I didn't make the frosting because I already had some leftover. They were great for Valentine's Day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States