Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this was petty good. I wasn't paying attention and grabbed the baking soda instead of powder and didn't realize until I had added it. I decided to go ahead and add the powder as well. My first couple of patches puffed up a lot but in later batches, I olled the dough thinner and baked them slightly longer and that seemed to fix my mistake. I will need to make this again the correct way to seem if it comes up to a 5 star. I put it as a 4 star because the taste wasn't 100% what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Wow....Excellent Recipe....I did add the additional 1/4 cup sugar, doubled the vanilla, and added about a teaspoon of almond extract, as others had suggested. I made the dough up yesterday, and let it chill overnight, it was very easy to work with. I used a 3 1/2 inch round cookie cutter and got 2 1/2 dozen of cookies, which is plenty for my family. Instead of greasing the pans, I used parchment paper, I baked for 10 minutes, I did let them rest on the pan for about 5 minutes before placing them on the racks to finish cooling. To decorate I used the "Sugar Cookie Frosting" from this site, then just added different sprinkles. One thing I did do is put the dough back into the fridge, while the other cookies baked, when the dough gets warm it is harder to work with, so keep it chilled. I also dusted any excess flour off both sides of the cookie before baking, I always do this, I don't like flour caked onto a cookie after it is baked, plus it doesn't look pretty. Another thing is just take your time, don't try to rush, have fun making the cookies, even my little guy (3 year old) had fun helping make the dough, and decorate the cookies. My hubby said if he wasn't home to see us make them, he would of thought I bought them from a bakery. They not only look professional, but taste it as well. This is now our new sugar cookie recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, also Thanks to those that have given advice on "tweaking" the recipe for additiional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
THE best sugar cookie recipe EVER! I've never cared for sugar cookies, but these ones are dangerous to have around. They taste like the gourmet kind you pay $4 for at the coffee shop. I'll never make another kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been searching for an awesome sugar cookie with more flavor. These looke promising, and I even added a little almond extract and vanilla butter & nut extract. Still, they were very bland, except for the overwheming eggy flavor, which I did not like. I even made the cookies with one less egg yolk than it calls for. I guess my search will continue...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My goodness, what a wonderful recipe. I have to admit that I forgot to add the vanilla to the cookies, but even the same the cookies tasted perfect! The next batch I make will include the vanilla, because the instructions to add wasn't in the recipe. Otherwise these cookies kept their cookie cutter shape and didn't taste too sweet. They weren't too cake-like and they weren't too crisp. They were soft, just like I like them. I will definitely be making these when I have a craving for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are amazing cookies and disappear faster than any other I bake, especially when frosted. They are identical to Cheryl's gourmet cookies and cost about one-tenth the price when you bake them yourself. I was a long time customer of Cheryl's just for these cookies and was thrilled to find this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Great recipe that makes lots of cookies. Used 1/2 the dough for Spritz cookies (chilled only 1 hour for those), and they worked great!!!! Tweaked flavors: doubled the vanilla, added 3/4 teas. almond extract, and 1/4 C. granulated sugar. Frosted them with Sugar Cookie Frosting recipe found seperately. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
The recipe I've been looking for forever! They remind me of the ones you can get at "Dutch" restaurant bakeries. Yes, the recipe neglects to tell you to add the vanilla extract, but come on folks! Add it with/after the eggs. I did double the vanilla, added around 3/4 teaspoon of almond extract, and added 1/4 cup of sugar as suggested by others because I like a sweeter cookie. Perfect flavor! Matched great with the "Sugar Cookie Icing" recipe on this site (not the icing recipe given). You don't need to add flour; stick in the fridge for an hour, put flour on your rolling surface, a bit on your rolling pin, and a sprinkle on the dough you're going to roll out - no sticking! I baked them for a total of 10 minutes, turning the sheet around in the oven at 5 minutes because my oven doesn't heat evenly on both sides unless I do so. In my case, I had to watch the bottoms carefully - a teeny bit of golden color and they were DONE. People are always so impressed with these! I hate reading the extremely low star reviews for this recipe...people, learn the basics of cookie making (cream your butter/sugar thoroughly, don't over-mix the flour, use fresh baking powder/soda, learn the signs of doneness, etc.) before you complain about a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I cut the recipe to 25 servings as 75 is too much for 2 people. The recipe never told you to add the vanilla extract but fortunately I caught that. The dough was too sticky to roll after hours of refrigeration. I did as others suggested and added flour. The cookies turned out beautiful but had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States