Thick Cut-Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Yummmy! I didnt have any vanilla extract so I used half a vanilla bean and 1 tsp almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
The cookies are wonder ful! So yummy! However, the vanilla is not in the directions, only listed in the ingrediants, so we forgot to put it in, but even without it they were spectacular. Also I had to use my own old recipie for frosting. The 4 cups powdered sugar to 1/4 cup oil did not work at all. At least not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNaccarato

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These are the BEST cookies! I decided to make several batches to feed a large wrestling team(65 boys) I should have given myself more time cause I was rushed. But they were so much fun to make. The icing is excellant. You can choose how thick you want the cookies, the layers of icing, and double up on the batch with the same results everytime. Thanks Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I hated these, but my husband who likes desserts that aren't too sweet thought they were good. Maybe it's because I wasn't making a cookie that I wanted to taste frosting. Without the frosting these are VERY bland- I ended up putting bluberry jelly on mine and eating it like a biscuit. I added extra sugar, vanilla, and some lemon extract after reading the reviews that these tended on the bland side and they are still too bland. Maybe I should have used almond extract instead, but the recipe as written is so far from the sweet sugar cookies I enjoy that I can't even recommend this as a base recipe. If you like to have just a hint of sweetness or enjoy the taste of icing over the cookie flavor this recipe might work perfectly for you since they do have a great texture and consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenna4
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent cookie - easy to make and they come out firm but soft. Good taste too - not too sweet so goes well with frosting. This will be my official cutout recipe from now on, it's the one I've been looking for. The only thing I changed was I used 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract. One thing to note - this makes a very large batch, which is great if you're making Christmas cookies, but consider halving it if you don't want that many. Also, when the cookies are done they are still the same color as the dough - so don't wait for them to brown or you might not like the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I've been looking for a sugar recipe like this for a loooooong time! It's fantastic. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Perfect texture! Very good cookie, I'd give it 5 stars but, the Cheryl's cookies are quite a bit sweeter (had some on hand, so I know for sure). Next time I think I'll try substituting some 10x sugar for the regular. Oh, and while the recipe looks massive, its a pretty normal sized. I made them super thick and got probably 30-40 cookies. Thanks for the recipe! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was my first time making cut outs and this recipe was easy and tasty! I made enough cookies for a bridal shower with just one batch of dough. I had such great feedback that I made a batch of Christmas Cookies as well! Easy to follow and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Had to look twice at recipe regarding how many eggs it called for. (Yes, it is right.) I added almond flavoring instead of vanilla. Dough was simply great to work with. I was very pleased with results from this recipe and will use this as my cut-out cookie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Okay, so I feel like a ding-a-ling with this recipe. Please read the entire recipe as I added the 4 cups of powdered sugar in to my mixture! I still make the batter as I couldn't see wasting all that butter. Perhaps if you see this same recipe with 4 cups powdered sugar added, it will be my revised one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drbiffswife

Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States